Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Update: Issue 10-11 October-November 2020

Nursing Update - Issue 11 October - November 2020

 COVID-19

Corona Virus Resource Centre (JAMA network)

Prophylactic dressings in the prevention of pressure ulcer related to the use of personal protective equipment by health professionals facing the Covid-19 pandemic: a randomized clinical trial, 2020

Psychological impact of COVID‐19 outbreak on frontline nurses: A cross‐sectional survey study. 

Feature Articles

The Correlation Between Fall Prevention Knowledge and Behavior in Stroke Outpatients
Journal of Neuroscience Nursing, Issue: Volume 52(2), April 2020, p 61-65.
Link to Full text

Health Literacy and Emergency Department Utilization Among Community Adults With Mental and Chronic Health Conditions
Dahl, Alyssa M. MPH; Hosler, Akiko S. Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal Issue: Volume 42(4), October/December 2020, p 293-303.
Link to Full text

Implementing TIMERS: the race against hard-to-heal wounds
Leanne Atkin, et al. Journal of Wound Care .Vol. 28, No. Sup3a, March 2019. 
Link to Full text

Effectiveness of the Manchester Triage System on time to treatment in the emergency department; a systematic review
Cicolo, Emilia Aparecida et al. JBI Evidence Synthesis: January 2020 - Volume 18 - Issue 1 - p 56-73.
Link to Full text

Mitochondrial Dysregulation in Sepsis: A Literature Review
Graham, Julie-Kathryn; Stacy, Kathleen Issue: Volume 34(4), July/August 2020, p 170-177.
Link to Full text

Evaluation of a Patient-Centered Fall-Prevention Tool Kit to Reduce Falls and Injuries: A Nonrandomized Controlled Trial
Patricia C. Dykes et al. Jama Network Open, November 17 2020. 
Link to Full text

Only ever as a last resort’: mental health nurses' experiences of restrictive practices. AUS
International Journal of Mental Health Nursing:2020:February 11
Full text

Falls risk score removal does not impact inpatient falls: A stepped‐wedge, cluster‐randomised trial  AUS
Jellett, J, Williams, C, et al. Journal of  Clinical. Nursing. 2020; 00: 1– 9. 
Link to Full text

Community respite service utilisation and dementia care: A review of literature  AUS
Wakefield, Cherrie J. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing, Vol. 37, No. 2, Mar-May 2020: 31-37.
Link to Full text

Medicines and older people: Polypharmacy, adherence and safety   AUS
Trisha Dunning, Journal of International Diabetes Nursing Volume 14, 2017 - Issue 1: Special Issue: Current Issues in the Care of the Older Person with Diabetes
Link to Full text

Intensive Care Unit Nurse: Could We Call a Palliative Care Consult? Intensive Care Unit Provider: It's Too Early. Palliative Care Integration in the Intensive Care Unit: The Struggle to Translate Evidence Into Practice
McAndrew, Natalie S. et al. Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing, Issue: Volume 40(1), January/February 2021, p 51-58.
Full text

Challenges of Implementing the Choosing Wisely Guideline to Promote Sleep and Rest at Night for Hospitalized Patients
Graham, Kimberly et al. Journal of Nursing Care Quality, Issue: Volume 36(1), January/March 2021, p 50-56.
Link to Full text

Systematic review of nutrition screening and assessment in inflammatory bowel disease
World Journal of Gastroenterology, 2019 Jul 28; 25(28): 3823–3837. 
Link to Full text

Nutrition Therapy for Adults With Diabetes or Prediabetes: A Consensus Report
Alison B. Evert et al. Diabetes Care 2019 May; 42(5): 731-754. 
Link to Full text

Clinical Practice

Pulse oximetry and the enduring neglect of respiratory rate assessment: a commentary on patient surveillance
Malcom Elliot & Jill Baird, British Journal of Nursing, Vol. 28, issue 19, Oct. 2019.
Full text

A new clinical tool for diagnosis and management of Guillain–Barré syndrome
Sarah Jane Palmer. British Journal of Neuroscience Nursing, Vol. 15, issue 6, 2019
Link to Full text

Perioperative Nursing Unfolding Case Study: Bringing the Operating Room Experience to the Classroom
Altmiller, Gerry. Nurse Educator. Issue: Volume 45(5), September/October 2020, p 231-232.
Link to Full text

Preoperative peripheral and core temperature: an observational study at a day-surgery unit
Ek Matilda, Emma Westergaard-Nielsen, Maria Henricson. British Journal of Nursing, Vol. 29, issue 3, February 2020.
Link to Full text

Flexible service provision for codeine-based dependencies in primary care
Jeff Fernandez. British Journal of Mental Health Nursing 2020 9:3, 1-4.
Link to Full text

Could therapeutic diaries support recovery in psychiatric intensive care?
Yeter Sinem Üzar-Özçetin, Steve Trenoweth, Louise L Clark, Greg Hext, and Stephen Tee, British Journal of Mental Health Nursing 2020 9:2, 1-9.
Link to Full text


                                                                                                                                

Request an article

We can obtain articles and resources not held at Carl de Gruchy Library. Please use our Article request form and our ILL (Interlibrary loan librarians') will help you out. It is easy to copy and paste your details. See: Request an Article

Determining the optimal value of the Geriatric Nutritional Risk Index to screen older patients with malnutrition risk: A study at a university hospital in Japan
Yuria Y Ishida, Geriatrics & gerontology international, Volume:20, Issue:9, Page(s):811, ISSN: 1447-0594

Nutrition Assessment in Crohn's Disease using Anthropometric, Biochemical, and Dietary Indexes: A Narrative Review
Sandall AM; Wall CL; Lomer MCE.. Journal of the Academy of Nutrition & Dietetics. 120(4):624-640, 2020 04.

 

 

 

 

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**
The October-November issue is looking at
Open Researcher and Contributor ID

       http://orcid.org/

"ORCID is a non-profit organization supported by a global community of organizational members, including research organizations, publishers, funders, professional associations, and other stakeholders in the research ecosystem".  (Orcid.org/ December 2018)        

See our Library Bulletin on Research Update to learn more. Research Write Update

Library Bulletins

SVHM Library contributes to current awareness in the following expert fields. We try to list and engage the most current literature in, medical trends, clinical practice and research.

Quick Links - Nursing Journals

Open Access Nursing Journals

Access from home

We try to provide hospital and remote access to most resorces. Some journals, ebooks are only network accessible.

Use your network login to access resources offsite, valid username and password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session. If you are an SVHM student with a username add "@svha.org.au" to the username.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

Nursing Update - Contact

Contact:

Anna Lovang                                                                     
Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
(03) 9231 2541
Nursing Subject Librarian SVHM
Literature searches - all nursing topics, Literature search tutorials - learn searching skills in databases, Literature search alerts - current awareness, Nursing Update - bulletin for Nursing research, trends and news.
Libguides: SVHM Nursing, Graduate Nurse, Medical Imaging - Nurses