Open Update is a bulletin produced by Library Services, St. Vincent's Hospital Melbourne.
It presents a selection of open access articles relevant to staff at St Vincent's Health Australia.
_________________________________________________________________________
General Articles
Proposing core competencies for physicians in using artificial intelligence tools in clinical practice. AUS
Internal Medicine Journal:2025: June 27 Full text
Electronic health record interventions to reduce risk of hospital readmissions: a systematic review and meta-analysis.
JAMA Network Open:2025: July 17 Full text
Communication in autistic adults: an action-focused review. OA
Current Psychiatry Reports:2025: June 23 Full text
Prescription opioid supply-restricting policies and hospital use by people prescribed opioid medications, Victoria, 2018–22: a controlled interrupted time series analysis. AUS
Medical Journal of Australia:2025: June 26 Full text
Addressing unsafe or disruptive inpatient behavior and workplace violence: Administrative discharge as a last resort.
Journal of Hospital Medicine:2025: July 9 Full text
Emergency Care
Adherence to ambulance performance indicators and patient outcomes after stroke: An Australian data linkage study. AUS
Australasian Emergency Care:2025: July 4 Full text
Staff and referrer experiences and challenges with a new emergency department avoidance service for older people: a qualitative study. AUS
Emergency Medicine Australasia:2025: July 1 Full text
Enhancing person-centred care in the final years of life: insights from emergency department visits and hospitalisations in Victorian residential aged care (2015/16 to 2022/23). AUS
Emergency Medicine Australasia:2025: July 7 Full text
Could low-value diagnostic tests be compounding access block? A single-site, cross-sectional study. AUS
Emergency Medicine Australasia:2025: July 21 Full text
Surgical Care
For CPR or not-for-CPR? Demographic factors predict resuscitation order documentation and CPR status in general surgery patients. AUS
ANZ Journal of Surgery:2025: June 26 Full text
Breast implant illness after reconstruction with silicone breast implants.
Journal of the National Cancer Institute:2025: July 3 Full text
The effects of gum chewing in the postoperative-period: a systematic review and meta-analysis.
ANZ Journal of Surgery:2025: July 21 Full text
Kidney Diseases and Diabetes
Asian Pacific Society of Nephrology Clinical Practice Guideline on Diabetic Kidney Disease—2025 Update. AUS
Nephrology:2025: July 9 Full text
Renal denervation is effective in reducing blood pressure in patients with CKD.
Clinical Kidney Journal:2025:18(6): Full text
Australian and New Zealand joint society consensus statement on genetic testing for monogenic diabetes in adults. AUS
Medical Journal of Australia:2025: July 10 Full text
Rehabilitation Care
Sarcopenia is poorly documented in geriatric rehabilitation inpatients: Restoring Health of Acutely Unwell Adults (RESORT). SVHA
Gerontology:2025:71(3):203-13 Full text
Quality and outcomes of acute stroke care for people with and without aphasia.
Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation:2025: July 18 Full text
Co-design of a personalised physical activity intervention for stroke survivors. AUS
Physiotherapy:2025: June 26 Full text
Mental Health Care
Clinical outcomes of patients seen by psychiatrists in a multidisciplinary clinic for disorders of gut-brain interaction. SVHA
Internal Medicine Journal:2025: June 27 Full text
AI in mental health: a review of technological advancements and ethical issues in psychiatry.
Issues in Mental Health Nursing:2025:46(7):693-701 Full text
Cancer Care
Frailty and outcomes in adults undergoing systemic anticancer treatment: a systematic review and meta-analysis.
Journal of the National Cancer Institute:2025:117(7):1316-39 Full text
Chemotherapy’s hidden side effect: sleepless nights without cancer.
Sleep:2025:48(7) zsaf110 Full text
Cardiovascular Diseases
Near-universal prevalence of central adiposity in heart failure with preserved ejection fraction: the PARAGON-HF trial.
European Heart Journal:2025:46(25):2372-90 Full text
Imidazole propionate is a driver and therapeutic target in atherosclerosis.
Nature:2025: July 16 Full text
Epidemiology
Prospective associations of diabetes with 15 cancers in 2.2 million UK and Chinese adults.
Journal of the National Cancer Institute:2025: July 17 Full text
Opioid use and the risk of cancer incidence and mortality: a systematic review.
Cancer and Metastasis Reviews:2025: June 11 Full text
Aged Care
Models of care across settings supporting ageing in place: a narrative review. AUS
Medical Journal of Australia:2025: July 14 Full text
Dignity of risk in residential aged care: a call to reframe understandings of risk. AUS
Medical Journal of Australia:2025: July 14 Full text
Methods for co-designing health innovations with older adults: A rapid review.
Australasian Journal on Ageing:2025: July 16 Full text
The Telephysiotherapy for Older People (TOP-UP) program for improving mobility in people receiving aged care: a hybrid type 1 effectiveness–implementation randomised controlled trial. AUS
Medical Journal of Australia:2025: July 20 Full text
