Open Update is a bulletin produced by Library Services, St. Vincent's Hospital Melbourne.
It presents a selection of open access articles relevant to staff at St Vincent's Health Australia.
_________________________________________________________________________
Research
Mandatory research projects during medical specialist training in Australia and New Zealand: a survey of trainees’ experiences and reports. AUS
Medical Journal of Australia:2025: February 25 Full text
Dismantling barriers to research and clinical care for individuals with a vision impairment. AUS
Medical Journal of Australia:2025: March 16 Full text
Emergency Care
Enough is enough: Alcohol-related occupational violence and aggression in emergency departments in Australia and New Zealand. AUS
Emergency Medicine Australasia:2025: March 7 Full text
Screening and assessment of falls risk in the emergency department. AUS
Australasian Emergency Care:2025: March 16 Full text
Emergency department presentations by trans and gender diverse people in Sydney, Australia: Retrospective case series. AUS
Emergency Medicine Australasia:2025: March 19 Full text
From triage to departure: older adults’ ED journey. A mixed methods study. AUS
Australasian Emergency Care:2025: March 26 Full text
Surgical Care
The use of iron after surgery: a systematic review and meta-analysis.
Anaesthesia:2025: March 24 Full text
Postoperative outcomes following preweekend surgery.
JAMA Network Open:2025: March 4 Full text
Sonolysis during carotid endarterectomy: randomised controlled trial.
BMJ:2025: March 19 Full text
Multimorbidity and analgesic-related harms: a systematic review.
British Journal of Anaesthesia:2025: March 20 Full text
Correctional Health
National consensus statement on opioid agonist treatment in custodial settings. AUS
Medical Journal of Australia:2025: March 2 Full text
The costs and benefits of a prison needle and syringe program in Australia, 2025–30: a modelling study. AUS
Medical Journal of Australia:2025: March 24 Full text
Kidney Disease
Evaluation and Management of Chronic Kidney Disease: Synopsis of the Kidney Disease: Improving Global Outcomes 2024 Clinical Practice Guideline.
Annals of Internal Medicine:2025: March 11 Full text
The role of the intestinal microbiome in cognitive decline in patients with kidney disease.
Nephrology, Dialysis, Transplantation:2025: March 13 Full text
Proton pump inhibitor use and worsening kidney function: a retrospective cohort study including 122,606 acid-suppressing users.
Journal of General Internal Medicine:2025:40:818-27 Full text
Oncology
Hematologic cancers among patients with type 2 diabetes prescribed GLP-1 receptor agonists.
JAMA Network Open:2025: March 6 Full text
Neurology
Towards developing brain-computer interfaces for people with multiple sclerosis. STV
PLOS One:2025: March 18 Full text
Rehabilitation
Smartphone application-based pulmonary rehabilitation in COPD: a multicentre randomised controlled trial.
Thorax:2025:80(4):209-17 Full text
“When the Word Is Too Big, It’s Just Too Hard”: Stroke survivors’ perspectives about health literacy and delivery of health information. STV
Healthcare:2025: March 3 Full text
Mental Health
Variations between, and within, jurisdictions in the use of community treatment orders and other compulsory community treatment: study of 402 060 people across four Australian states. AUS
BJPsych Open:2025: March 21 Full text
Social Work
Facilitating best clinical practice in domestic violence work with hospital social workers. AUS
Social Work in Health Care:2025: February 5 Full text
