Open Update is a bulletin produced by Library Services, St. Vincent's Hospital Melbourne.
It presents a selection of open access articles relevant to staff at St Vincent's Health Australia.
_________________________________________________________________________
Workforce Issues
A scoping review of work patterns of junior medical officer tasks in hospital out of hours. AUS OA
Internal Medicine Journal:2025: April 12 Full text
Trends in retention and attrition in nine regulated health professions in Australia. AUS OA
Australian Health Review:2025: February 10 Full text
COVID-19
Metformin alleviates inflammatory response and severity rate of COVID-19 infection in elderly individuals. OA
Nature:2025: April 2 Full text
Health outcomes up to 3 years and post-exertional malaise in patients after hospitalization for COVID-19: a multicentre prospective cohort study (CO-FLOW). OA
Lancet Regional Health: Europe:2025: April 6 Full text
Cutting through the fog: recognising brain fog as a significant public health concern. STV OA
BMC Public Health:2025: April 1 Full text
A natural experiment on the effect of herpes zoster vaccination on dementia. OA
Nature:2025: April 2 Full text
Gut microbiota and metabolites are linked to disease progression in multiple sclerosis. OA
Cell Reports Medicine:2025: April 2 Full text
Surgical Care
Lost in transcription – how accurately are we documenting the surgical ward round? AUS OA
ANZ Journal of Surgery:2025: April 9 Full text
Association between glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor agonist use and peri-operative pulmonary aspiration: a systematic review and meta-analysis. OA
Anaesthesia:2025: April 15 Full text
A point prevalence study of need and provision of palliative care in adult and medical surgical inpatients. AUS OA
Journal of Clinical Nursing:2025: April 10 Full text
Critical Care
Electrolyte disorders in the critically ill: a retrospective analysis. OA
Scientific Reports:2025: April 22 Full text
Cancer Care
Early-stage low rectal cancer – re-thinking the standard of care. AUS OA
ANZ Journal of Surgery:2025: April 15 Full text
Patient reported outcome measures in the treatment of colorectal cancer – understanding importance and implementation into practice. AUS OA
ANZ Journal of Surgery:2025: April 3 Full text
Cardiovascular Care
The ‘nephrotoxins’ were stopped: what is in a name and its impact on kidney and cardiac health? AUS OA
Internal Medicine Journal:2025: April 22 Full text
Implementation of a national AI technology program on cardiovascular outcomes and the health system. OA
Nature Medicine:2025: April 4 Full text
Emergency Care
Potential length of stay reductions from emergency department use of a point-of-care high-sensitivity cardiac troponin assay: Pilot findings from Australia's first cardiac emergency department. AUS OA
Emergency Medicine Australasia:2025: April 21 Full text
Self-referral trends to a virtual emergency department following initial presentation: A retrospective exploratory analysis. AUS OA
Australasian Emergency Care:2025: April 10 Full text
Evaluating the satisfaction of patients utilising the virtual emergency department service in southeast region of Melbourne. AUS OA
Emergency Medicine Australasia:2025: April 2 Full text
Diabetes Care
Accelerating diabetes innovation for real-world community impact through interdisciplinary research: Who is at the table? STV OA
Diabetic Medicine:2025: April 19 Full text
Advance Care Planning
Advance care planning: empowering older frail people to document their end of life wishes. AUS OA
Australian Health Review:2025: April 9 Full text
Raising awareness and preparation for what may come: next of kin experiences of advance care planning with frail, home-dwelling older adults in geriatric units. OA
BMC Health Services Research:2025: March 27 Full text
