Open Update is a bulletin produced by Library Services, St. Vincent's Hospital Melbourne.
It presents a selection of open access articles relevant to staff at St Vincent's Health Australia.
_________________________________________________________________________
Emergency Care
Urgent care centres for reducing the demand on emergency departments: a scoping review of published quantitative and qualitative studies. AUS
Medical Journal of Australia:2025: May 2 Full text
A cross-sectional survey reporting nurses’ perspectives of person-centred care at emergency department triage and waiting room in Australia. AUS
Australasian Emergency Care:2025: May 15 Full text
Evaluation of a virtual emergency care service to avoid unnecessary emergency department presentations and provide specialist-led definitive care. AUS
Emergency Medicine Australasia:2025: May 1 Full text
Smartphone-activated volunteer responders and survival to discharge after out-of-hospital cardiac arrests in Victoria, 2018–23: an observational cohort study. AUS
Medical Journal of Australia:2025: May 19 Full text
Palliative Care
Building dignity at the bedside: A reflective clinical model for clinical encounters.
Palliative and Supportive Care:2025: April 25 Full text
Culturally appropriate and respectful end-of-life care for patients and their families in the intensive care unit: A mixed-method study. AUS
Australian Critical Care:2025: April 23 Full text
Evaluating the effectiveness of psilocybin in alleviating distress among cancer patients: A systematic review.
Palliative and Supportive Care:2025: April 22 Full text
Incidence and characteristics of hospital-acquired pressure injuries in acute palliative care patients: a four-year analysis. AUS
Journal of Clinical Nursing:2025: May 19 Full text
Surgical Care
International region of birth and long-term outcomes for patients undergoing colorectal cancer resection in an Australian population. AUS
ANZ Journal of Surgery:2025: May 10 Full text
Remote follow-up after colorectal cancer surgery: a systematic review.
ANZ Journal of Surgery:2025: May 5 Full text
Psychiatric Care
Use of gabapentinoid treatment and the risk of self-harm: population based self-controlled case series study.
BMJ:2025: April 30 Full text
Music as a collaborating actor: new insights into the nature and role of music in psychedelic-assisted psychotherapy. STV
Frontiers in Psychiatry:2025: April 30 Full text
AI
How AI can help in error detection and prevention in the ICU?
Intensive care Medicine:2025:51:590-92 Full text
OpenAI's ‘Deep Research’ for the generation of comprehensive referenced medical text: uses and cautions. AUS
ANZ Journal of Surgery:2025: May 5 Full text
Care Transitions
‘No man's land’: the journey of young adults with complex care needs, from paediatric to adult healthcare. AUS
Internal Medicine Journal:2025: May 5 Full text
Healthcare transition and inflammatory bowel disease: the challenges experienced by young adults after transfer from paediatric to adult health services. STV
Psychology, Health and Medicine:2025: April 29 Full text
Pharmacotherapy Issues
Effectiveness of computerised alerts to reduce drug–drug interactions (DDIs) and DDI-related harm in hospitalised patients: a quasi-experimental controlled pre–post study. AUS
BMJ Quality and Safety:2025: May 11 Full text
Treatment options to support the elimination of hepatitis C: an open-label, factorial, randomised controlled non-inferiority trial.
Lancet:2025: May 8 Full text
De-escalating and discontinuing disease-modifying therapies in multiple sclerosis.
Brain:2025:148(5):1459-78 Full text
Other
Understanding patient and staff perspectives on dignified rehabilitation care experiences. AUS
Disability and Rehabilitation:2025: May 2 Full text
The British Society for Rheumatology guideline for the management of foot health in inflammatory arthritis.
Rheumatology:2025:64(5):2355-68 Full text
Interventions to reduce readmissions after pneumonia hospitalization: A systematic review and meta-analysis.
Journal of Hospital Medicine:2025: May 14 Full text
Eligibility for semaglutide 2.4 mg in patients with acute myocardial infarction and overweight or obesity without diabetes: a real-world analysis. AUS
Heart, Lung and Circulation:2025: May 14 Full text
Practical application of evidence-based dietary therapy in inflammatory bowel disease: The DELECTABLE Program. STV
Nutrients:2025: May 6 Full text
