This page lists feature articles on COVID-19 relevant to people working at St Vincent's Health Australia.
All articles listed are open access unless stated otherwise.
Therapy
Can nebulised heparin reduce acute lung injury in patients with SARS‑CoV‑2 requiring advanced respiratory support in Ireland: the CHARTER‑Ireland phase Ib/IIa, randomised, parallel-group, open-label study. SVHA
Intensive Care Medicine Experimental:2025: February 7 Full text
Clinical Practice
Locked down: Orthopaedic surgery in a regional health service during the COVID-19 pandemic. AUS
ANZ Journal of Surgery:2025: February 3 Full text
Impact of COVID-19 on hospitalization for heart failure: a perspective from Victoria, Australia. AUS
European Journal of cardiovascular Nursing:2025: January 22 Full text
Pathophysiology
TGFβ links EBV to multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children.
Nature:2025: March 12 Full text
Long COVID
Prevalence of cardiovascular symptoms in post-acute COVID-19 syndrome: a meta-analysis.
BMC Medicine:2025: February 6 Full text
Left ventricular assessment by 3D-echocardiography in post-COVID-19 syndrome.
Egyptian Journal of Critical care Medicine:2025: February 18 Full text
Non-hospitalized Long COVID patients exhibit reduced retinal capillary perfusion: a prospective cohort study.
Journal of Imaging:2025: February 17 Full text
Altered corticostriatal connectivity in long-COVID patients is associated with cognitive impairment.
Psychological Medicine:2025: February 17 Full text
Differences in Long COVID severity by duration of illness, symptom evolution, and vaccination: a longitudinal cohort study from the INSPIRE group.
Lancet Regional Health: Americas:2025: February 13 Full text
Imaging
Diffusion Tensor Imaging after COVID-19 infection: A systematic review.
Neuroimage:2025: March 15 Full text
Immunology
Four ways COVID changed virology: lessons from the most sequenced virus of all time.
Nature:2025: March 12 Full text
Active surveillance of cats and dogs from households with human COVID-19 cases reveals over one quarter of pets infected with SARS-CoV-2 in 2020-2021 in Texas, United States.
BioRxiv:2025: February 4 Full text
Microglia dysfunction, neurovascular inflammation and focal neuropathologies are linked to IL-1- and IL-6-related systemic inflammation in COVID-19.
Nature Neuroscience:2025: March 6 Full text
