Skip to Main Content

Medical Imaging: Nursing SVHM

Welcome

Welcome to the Nursing SVHM Libguide 

This is a library guide for nursing related resources and information for all nursing professionals at SVHM. The guide includes journals, Ebooks, and online resources. For all your nursing information queries Contact: Anna Lovang, anna.lovang@svha.org.au

SVHM Nursing Excellence Awards 2023 Congrats to the amazing nurses for their dedicated research! Excellence Award  

SVHM Nursing Recruitment
https://www.svhm.org.au/join-our-team/join-our-team

What is NEW

NEW CONTENT

UPCOMING EVENTS

One-to-One Statistical Consultation for Researchers: Final Clinic in 2023

Getting the statistical section of your grant or project correct can be critical to its success.

To support researchers with REF Applications, SVHM is organising an one-to-one consultation clinic for researchers, facilitated by experienced biostatisticians from the Methods and Implementation Support for Clinical and Health research (MISCH) Hub, Melbourne School of Population and Global Health (MSPGH), The University of Melbourne.

Example topics include:

  • Review of research question,
  • Advice on appropriate study design,
  • Assistance on drafting statistical analysis plan,
  • Guidance on statistical software,
  • Detailed discussion and planning of the protocol, including advice on design, randomisation and sample size.

Slots for November 1st 2023

1              1.30-2.15 pm

2               2.30-3.15 pm

One on one consultations to provide project/protocol plan by Wednesday 27th of October.

Consultation date 1 Nov 2023

Please contact research.directorate@svha.org.au for further enquiries. OR enrol here: REGISTER YOUR EOI HERE by 19/10/23

Communication skills training: how to write accessible health information for patients and families

As part of Drop the Jargon Day 2024, you can join a workshop on writing accessible health information. The workshop covers health literacy, patient engagement, relevant policies and procedures, challenges of health information, how to write information that is easy to read and how to engage with consumers in reviewing and providing feedback on brochures. If you are working on a brochure, please bring it to the workshop and share the brochure to access easy to understand feedback.  

When: 2.30pm – 4pm, Wednesday 25 October 2023   Where: 62 Gertrude Street, Fitzroy     Limited places are available. To register, please email Monita Mascitti-Meuter at monita.mascitti-meuter@svha.org.au

 

Journal Collection

    Internurse is UK's largest collection of 
    peer reviewed nursing content. 
    Home of the British Journal of Nursing.
    
                                  Internurse (MA health care) 


   Ovid Nursing Full-text Plus 

A collection of nursing journals in various disciplines provided by OVID, Wolters Kluwer.

Easy, full text access to journals such as:

  • Journal for Nurses in Professional Development
  • International Journal of Evidence-Based Healthcare
  • Journal of Hospice & Palliative Nursing

Browzine is an easy-to-use interface for browsing journals and locating articles. Use on your PC, or via a free app or on your device.

See the Library Homepage for more information.

 Access to Nursing subject titles here: Browzine - Nursing titles

Journal of Advanced Nursing

Loading ...

Nursing Critical Care Journal feed

Loading ...

Health Times magazine (AU) Journal Feed

Loading ...

Feature Journals

Nursing databases

Access through the Library Homepage-databases

  • CINAHL
  • Medline
  • Cochrane Library
  • Emcare
  • UpToDate

Medicine & drug information

MIMS Online - access via Clinician's Health Channel
MIMS | Search (hcn.com.au)

Clinician's Health Channel
"Our portal is for health professionals working in public healthcare in Victoria"

Web resources

Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Resources (non subscription)
Evidence-based practice resources used to assist healthcare professionals in clinical decision making. Included best practice information sheets, evidence summaries, systematic reviews and technical reports. Some free resources available.
 

Social care & social work databases (UK)

Freely available alternative sources of information include:

  • Kings Fund Library Database for information relating to health and social care management and policy, systems, services and leadership.
  • NSPCC Library catalogue for safeguarding, child protection, child abuse and neglect.
  • AgeInfo – information resource provided by the Centre for Policy on Ageing Library Service, covering social gerontology

Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet

 

 

Australian Indigenous Health InfoNet
Providing support to those working in the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health sector by making research and other knowledge readily accessible. WA, Edith Cowan University


Resources: Supporting nurses to engage in research  
(Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre) 
 

      

 

Patient experience: "The Beryl Institute is the global community of practice committed to elevating the human experience* in healthcare".
Free registration to access, community and research resources. (US)

Education and Training

Guidelines & Standards

Standards

ACORN Standards 
can be accessed from Quick Links A to Z menu of the STV Intranet Page. You will need RDS for home access, please contact IT.
ACORN Webinars
The Standards are supporting Australian perioperative nurses in delivering safe and high-quality perioperative care. 
(Member registration, Open access to webinars)

Nursing Research

Are you a Nurse or Allied Health staff?

If you need support or guidance with regard to a research project, abstract writing, grant application or getting published, please reach out:
Allied Health: Rita Kinsella, Allied Health Research & Knowledge Translation Lead, Allied Health & Pharmacy - Rita Kinsella.
Nursing: Nursing Research Officer Kelly Coughlan (ACU) Nursing Research Institute

Nursing Research Institute -Melbourne & Sydney

NRI -Nursing Research Interest group (here in conjunction with the Allied Health research group) through SVHA. Some resources will not be accessible to SVHM staff due to IP network identification.
(The NRI group supports nursing staff through St. Vincent's Hospital in Melbourne and Sydney to undertake research and professional development) 

2023 NRI seminar program here

EBP - Evidence based practice

Evidence based practice - Step by Step (American Journal of Nursing Collection series)
Asking the Clinical Question, Steps of Evidence, critical appraisal processes)

Evidence based practice- SVHM Library Service
Overview of Evidence based practice.

General nursing research - support pages
Clinical research nurses - Nursing Times magazine journal (1-3 articles downloaded with a free registration)

Literature searching & Systematic Reviews

Literature searching - introduction SVHM Library Service

Systematic Reviews - introduction SVHM Library Service
Helen Wilding, SVHM Library Service. Set up a search strategy step by step. Systematic review process overview. Library tutorials.

Writing & Publishing

Writing for Publication for Nurses (English Edition)
An Easy-To-Follow Guide for Nurses. Copyright © 2000-2019 by John Wiley & Sons, Inc., or related companies.

Research and Evidence based Nursing Practice Issue 3 & 4 (March-April) 2019
Nursing Update Bulletin, SVHM Library Service, Anna Lovang 2019, (Nursing research, writing & publishing resources)

Scholarly Writing Library Guide - SVHM Library Service
Danila Durante, SVHM Library Service. Resources for writing health professional clinical or non-clinical work. This could be an article for publication, an internal report, or a grant application.

Writing Abstracts

Center for Nursing Excellence: Writing Abstracts - University of  Alabama at Birmingham (US)

Drug & calculation resources

Clinician's Health Channel resources (CHC)
Department of Health, VIC. (Set up your own account to freely access resources)
https://www2.health.vic.gov.au/clinicianshealthchannel

  • eTG Complete - Therapeutic Guidelines 
  • AMH, Australian Medicines Handbook
  • MIMS Online & MIMS Mobile
  • Australian Injectable Drugs Handbook, 8th Edition
  • IBM Micromedex (US)

 

Anatomy & Images

Useful links

Libguide Author

Anna Lovang, Research Librarian

Carl de Gruchy Library, St Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
+613 9231 2541  Anna.Lovang@svha.org.au

Literature Searching, Database Literature Search Education, Nursing liaison 
Monday, Tuesdays & alternate Wednesdays

Nursing Libguide Suite

Please see other Nursing related libguides. 

SVHM Nursing Libguides
Nursing SVHM   (main nursing guide)
Nursing Update (current awareness bulleting and special topic guide

Graduate Nurse (SVHM graduating nurses)
Postgraduate Nurse (postgraduate streams offered at SVHM)

Nursing eBooks  Oxford Medicine Online Nursing eBooks

This libguide page supports nursing in all fields. The page is regularly updated with new information.
If you experience a broken link or would like to recommend a resource please contact the library on library.svhmlibrary@svha.org.au