Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Update: Special Issue: Research and Evidence Based Nursing Practice, Issue 3 & 4 March-April 2019

Nursing Update - Special Issue 3 & 4 March-April 2019

Feature Articles

Succeeding in research: insights from management and game theory (AU)
Clark, Alexander M.; Thompson, David R. Journal of Advanced Nursing,Issue: Volume 69(6), June 2013, p 1221-1223.
Full text

The Importance of Nursing Research
Martha S. Tingen. Journal of Nursing Education, Mar2009; 48(3): 167-170.
Request an article

Engaging Nursing Students: Integrating Evidence-Based Inquiry, Informatics, and Clinical Practice

Keiffer, Melanie R. Nursing Education Perspectives. Issue: Volume 39(4), July/August 2018, p 247-249.
Full text

Implementing evidence-based practice: effectiveness of a structured multifaceted mentorship programme
Wallen, Gwenyth R.
 Journal of Advanced Nursing. Issue: Volume 66(12), December 2010, p 2761-2771.
Full text

Key considerations for selecting instruments when evaluating healthcare professionals' evidence-based practice competencies: A discussion paper
Saunders, Hannele. Journal of Advanced Nursing. Issue: Volume 74(10), October 2018, p 2301-2311.
Full text

Using systematic reviews to inform nursing practice
Pryce-Miller, Maxine. Nursing Standard (2014+); London Vol. 29, Iss. 52,  (Aug 26, 2015): 52.
Link to PDF

Turning a clinical question into nursing research: the benefits of a pilot study (AU)
Henson A, Jeffrey C. Renal Society of Australasia Journal. 2016;12(3):99-105.
Link to PDF

How to series

Writing

Simple writing skills for students, part one: structure and clarity
Kerri Wright. British Journal of Nursing, 2010.
Full text

Simple writing skills for students, part two: researching your subject
Wright K, Ferns T. British Journal of Nursing, 2010
Full text

Undertaking a literature review: a step-by-step approach
Patricia Cronin, Frances Ryan, Michael Coughlan, British Journal of Nursing, Online 2013.
Full text

Academic skills: using literature to support your discussion
Kerri Wright, Paul Street, Mamood Gousy. British Journal of Nursing, 2011
Full text

Read a Paper
 
BMJ Education And Debate, (Article series, Trisha Greenhalgh.)

How to read a paper. Getting your bearings (deciding what the paper is about).
Greenhalgh, Trisha BMJ: British Medical Journal, 315:7102 (1997): 243.
Full text

How to read a paper: Assessing the methodological quality of published papers
Trisha Greenhalgh. BMJ 1997; 315: 305 (Published 02 Aug 1997).
Full text

How to read a paper: Papers that report drug trials
Trisha Greenhalgh, BMJ 1997; 315: 480 (Published 23 Aug 1997).
Full text

How to read a paper: Papers that go beyond numbers (qualitative research)
Trisha Greenhalgh, Rod Taylor. BMJ 1997; 315: 740 (Published 20 Sep 1997)
Full text

Statistics

How to read a paper: Statistics for the non-statistician. I: Different types of data need different statistical tests
Trisha Greenhalg, BMJ 1997.
Full text

How to read a paper: Statistics for the non-statistician. II: “Significant” relations and their pitfalls
Full text

Link to all articles in the Education and Debate series via BMJ

Novel and emerging strategies for longitudinal data collection. [Review]
Udtha, Malini et al. Journal of Nursing Scholarship. 47(2):152-60, 2015 Mar.
Request an article


Australian resources  AU  

Research evidence into practice - Methods
Joanna Briggs Institute

JBI Reviewer's Manual  JBI's description and methodology of planning and undertaking systematic reviews

The Centre for Clinical Effectiveness
Evidence-based answers to clinical questions for busy clinicians.
Melbourne, Vic: The Centre for Clinical Effectiveness, Southern Health
. Harris C & Turner T. 2011.
"This article goes through the process of developing your search question, doing your search and appraising the evidence identified.
PICO explanation". Excellent Workbook.
Full text

 

 

 .

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Evidence based practice - library resources

Publishing

Loading ...

Access from home

Use your SVHM login to access resources offsite. E-mail and network password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session to log in. Please note that some services only have Intranet access, i.e UptoDate.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**
The March issue is looking at :  Evidence based practice models at Joanna Briggs
Joanna Briggs Institute

Evidence based practice resources
JBI approach

Levels of Evidence    

Systematic Review outline
planning, undertaking and writing up a systematic review
 
Grades of recommendation
implementing evidence into practice

Research & training at SVHM

SVHM Nursing Education Centre   
Continuing professional education  (Study days, work shops)   

                               
              

Research Librarian

Anna Lovang's picture
Anna Lovang
Contact:
Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
(03) 9231 2541