Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Graduate Nurse: Databases

Bibliographic Databases

UpToDate

Clinical point of care tool. Includes evidence based summaries of medical issues and treatment. Access provided by SVHM IT Department.

UpToDate Mobile App:

STV staff must register for an account before using the App.  Creating the account while onsite is the quickest way to authenticate your access.

Staff working remotely can still access UpToDate using RDS or a hospital laptop. See instructions below. Contact IT Helpdesk for further assistance:

  1. Log in to the Remote Desktop App (RDS).  
  2. Once logged in, select the SVHA RDS Desktop icon
  3. Allow Remote Desktop connection
  4. Enter password when prompted
  5. Look for UpToDate shortcut in the intranet home page
  6. The smart phone app can be set up if needed. App must have the latest up dates to work. 

Clinicians Health Channel

Clinicians Health Channel - provided by the Health Department, Victoria

Includes MIMs, Australian Medicines Handbook, and Therapeutic Guidelines as well as bibliographic databases and journal collections.

Australian Standards

Please note that access to Australian Standards has changed.

Access via the new platform Techstreet is currently available via invitation.

More information is available via the SVHA intranet site (restricted to SVHA staff only)

 

Summary of key bibliographic health databases

The following diagram shows the type of content, and a rough idea of the overlap, of key databases. It demonstrates the need for multiple databases to be included in a comprehensive literature search, but it does not attempt to be exact or exhaustive. Databases change constantly and there are many layers of duplication.

Database content - broader than you think

Keep in mind that the specialty area of a database is very broad, and it indicates the types of journals indexed rather than the specific content. For example a nursing and allied health database will still include articles on general medicine, psychology and radiology which are published in nursing and allied health journals. Likewise, there are many nursing related topics in Medline and PsycINFO. Medline and Embase cover an extremely wide range of topics.