Skip to main content

Library Knowledge Update: Knowledge Update January 27 2020

Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin including feature articles across a wide range of clinical and non-clinical topics

Knowledge Update

Library Services' Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin which includes feature articles across a wide range of topics, new physical and e-books in the Library, and websites of interest.

Access to full text articles is available both on and offsite using a St Vincent's login.

St. Vincent's Hospital staff wishing to be notified when a new issue has been published can join the notification list by contacting Jeremy.Taylor@svha.org.au 

Feature Articles

Working hours, common mental disorder and suicidal ideation among junior doctors in Australia: a cross-sectional survey. STV
BMJ Open:2020: 10:e033525 Full text

Nurses matter: more evidence.
BMJ Quality and Safety:2020:29(1):1-3 Full text

Association of registered nurse and nursing support staffing with inpatient hospital mortality.
BMJ Quality and Safety:2020:29(1):10-18 Full text

Exploring the sustainability of quality improvement interventions in healthcare organisations: a multiple methods study of the 10-year impact of the ‘Productive Ward: Releasing Time to Care’ programme in English acute hospitals.
BMJ Quality and Safety:2020:29(1):31-40 Full text

Clinician‐led design for optimising flow: Seizing the opportunity for a new‐build Australian Emergency Department. AUS
Emergency Medicine Australasia:2020: January 20 Full text

The effect of a rapid assessment zone on emergency department operations and throughput.
Annals of Emergency Medicine:2020:75(2):236-45 Full text

Post-discharge acute care and outcomes following readmission reduction initiatives: national retrospective cohort study of Medicare beneficiaries in the United States.
BMJ:2020;368:l6831 Full text

Unplanned hospital care use in older adults: the role of psychological and social well‐being.
Journal of the American Geriatrics Society:2020: January 20 Full text

Rapid recovery following hip and knee arthroplasty using local infiltration analgesia: length of stay, rehabilitation protocol and cost savings. AUS
ANZ Journal of Surgery:2020: January 20 Full text

Is there a place for intra-articular corticosteroid injections in the treatment of knee osteoarthritis?
BMJ:2020;368:l6923 Full text

Effect of hydroxyethyl starch vs saline for volume replacement therapy on death or postoperative complications among high-risk patients undergoing major abdominal surgery: the FLASH Randomized Clinical Trial.
JAMA:2020:323(3):225-236 Full text

Oral anticoagulation for patients with atrial fibrillation on long-term hemodialysis.
Journal of the American College of Cardiology:75(3):273-85 Full text

Development and validation of a ceramide- and phospholipid-based cardiovascular risk estimation score for coronary artery disease patients.
European Heart Journal:2020:41(3):371-80 Full text

Long-term safety and efficacy of closed-loop spinal cord stimulation to treat chronic back and leg pain (Evoke): a double-blind, randomised, controlled trial.
Lancet Neurology:2020:19(2):123-34 Full text

The gut microbiome in neurological disorders.
Lancet Neurology:2020:19(2):179-94 Full text

Skeletons in the closet: towards the dignified disposal of all human bones acquired for medical education.
BMJ:2019;367:l6705 Full text

Browzine

Browzine is an easy-to-use interface for browsing journals and locating articles. Use on your PC, or via a free app or on your device. Please give us your feedback! If you would like to know more, just contact us! 

Search e-journals via Browzine