Chronic Illness - Diabetes Issues
Chronic Illness
Chronic Disease Overview (AIHW, Australian Institute of Health and Welfare)
Chronic disease and systems (The Australian Prevention Partnership Centre)
Risk factors
Cardiovascular disease, diabetes and chronic kidney disease—Australian facts: risk factors (AIHW, 2015)
Social Determinants of Health and Diabetes: A Scientific Review, 2020 (Diabetes Care)
COVID-19
Incidence of newly diagnosed diabetes after Covid-19, 2022
Rathmann, W., Kuss, O. & Kostev, K. Diabetologia 65, 949–954 (2022).
Proportion of newly diagnosed diabetes in COVID-19 patients: A systematic review and meta-analysis, 2021 Review
Sathish, T., Kapoor, N., Cao, Y., Tapp, R.J. and Zimmet, P. (2021), Diabetes Obes Metab, 23: 870-874.
Diabetes in COVID-19: Prevalence, pathophysiology, prognosis and practical considerations, 2020
Prevention and Management
The effectiveness of social media intervention in people with diabetes: An integrative review, 2022
Yaagoob, E., Hunter, S., & Chan, S. (2022). Journal of Clinical Nursing, 00, 1– 14.
Randomized controlled study of the impact of a participatory patient care plan among primary care patients with common chronic diseases: a one-year follow-up study. BMC Health Serv Res 21, 715 (2021)
Education and training
Diabetes & Endocrinology Activities (MEDSCAPE, medical information)
Nurses’ Role in Glycemic Management and CV Risk Reduction
Tory Lucas, RN, CDE Nurse-centric strategies for cardiovascular risk reduction in T2D management, 2021..Medscape Education, 2021.
Topical Collection on Hospital Management of Diabetes
Current Diabetes Reports (Springer Journals)
ISSN: 1534-4827 (Print) 1539-0829 (Online) A collection of 48 articles on diabetes management within the hospital inpatient setting.
To access all articles in this collection please see:
Topical Collection on Hospital Management of Diabetes (48 articles)
Other Topical Collections on Diabetes
Topical Collection on Diabetes Epidemiology (34 articles)
Topical Collection on Lifestyle Management to Reduce Diabetes/Cardiovascular Risk (47 articles)
Topical Collection on Health Care Delivery Systems and Implementation in Diabetes (39 articles)
Topical Collection on Immunology, Transplantation, and Regenerative Medicine (34 articles)
Current Diabetes Reports - Collections
All Collections
© Research Review 2020
https://www.researchreview.com.au/
Diabetes Research Review
(Research Review is delighted to announce AU Diabetes Research Review is now an endorsed activity by the Australian Diabetes Educators Association)
National Diabetes Services Scheme - NDSS- Diabetes Victoria
(Information and resource hub for health professionals wanting to learn more about diabetes)
The Australian Prevention Partnership Centre
(Chronic disease prevention and research)
FEND - Foundation of European Nurses in Diabetes
(The pan European non-profit organisation for nurses working in the specialty of diabetes)
Current and future trends in chronic disease prevention research
Elly Howse’s presentation at the Public Health Association of Australia’s Preventive Health Conference 2020
ADS Australian Diabetes Society
The Australian Diabetes Society (ADS) – is the peak national medical and scientific body in Australia on diabetes for health professionals.
Current Position Statements & Guidelines - ALL
NHMRC Clinical Practice Diabetes Guidelines
The National Health & Medical Research Council (NHRMC) Clinical Practice Guidelines
National Evidence Based Guideline on Secondary Prevention of Cardiovascular Disease in Type 2 Diabetes
ADEA Clinical Guidelines
Australian Diabetes Educators Association resource with standards, guidelines and position statements from an Australian nursing perspective.
NDSS Diabetes Australia - Best Practice Guidelines
International Guidelines
App Use and Patient Empowerment in Diabetes Self-Management by 
Pressure Injury, Diabetes and Negative Pressure Wound Therapy by 
Science of Wound Healing and Dressing Materials by 
The Art and Science of Personalising Care with Older People with Diabetes by Use your SVHM login to access resources offsite. E-mail and network password.
You should only be prompted once per browser session to log in. Please note that some services only have Intranet or remote desktop access.
If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT web portal or call 1300 518 001.
Bulletin guide last updated 4/07/2023. Please let us know regarding broken links or any added information you would like to see included here.