Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Update: Issue 10 September 2020

Nursing Update - Issue 10 September 2020

Feature Articles

Covid-19

Featured Review: Interventions available during pandemics for heavy menstrual bleeding: an overview of Cochrane reviews
Cochrane Systematic Review - Overview, James Mn Duffy et al. July, 2020.
Link to Full text

Evidence for possible association of vitamin D status with cytokine storm and unregulated inflammation in COVID-19 patients
September, 2020
Link to Full text

Gender differences in the battle against COVID‐19: impact of genetics, comorbidities, inflammation and lifestyle on differences in outcomes
International Journal of Clinical Practice, Epub ahead of print, Sept 2020
Link to Full text

Determining Nursing Education Needs During a Rapidly Changing COVID-19 Environment
Critical Care Nursing Quarterly, Issue: Volume 43(4), October/December 2020, p 428-450.
Full text

Feature articles - all topics

User involvement in the implementation of welfare technology in home care services: The experience of health professionals—A qualitative study
Journal of Clinical Nursing, July 2020
Link to Full text

Cultural competence in healthcare: Our learning from 2017-2020 will shape our future
Australian Nursing and MidwiferyJournal, July-Sept 2020.
Full text

Home Delivered Meals to Older Adults: A Critical Review of the Literature
Home Healthcare Now. Issue: Volume 36(3), May/June 2018, p 159–168.
Full text

Leading unique cultures in departments with low turnover of nurses. A positive deviance approach study
Journal of Nursing Management, June 2020.
Link to Full text

An integrative review: Challenges and opportunities for stroke survivors and caregivers in hospital to home transition care
Journal of Advanced Nursing, June 2020.
Link to Full text

Peer Teaching in High-Fidelity Simulation: Participant Experiences and Reflections
Nurse Educator, Issue: Volume 43(6), November/December 2018, p 312–316.
Full text

Raising the Bar: Using Simulation to Advance Staff Competency Regarding the Patient Experience
Journal for Nurses in Professional Development, Sept-Oct 2020
Link to Full text

Mitochondrial Dysregulation in Sepsis: A Literature Review 
Clinical Nurse Specialist, August 2020.
Link to Full text

Learning Sterile Procedures Through Transformative Reflection: Use of iPad Videos in a Nursing Laboratory Course
Nurse Educator, Issue: Volume 43(6), November/December 2018, p 330–333.
Full text

Acute decompensated heart failure: a study of nursing care
British Journal of Cardiac Nursing, March 2020.
Full text

Evaluating the Outcomes of an Organizational Initiative to Expand End-of-Life Resources in Intensive Care Units With Palliative Support Tools and Floating Hospice
Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing, July-August 2020.
Link to Full text

The development and psychometric testing of three instruments that measure person‐centred caring as three concepts – Personalization, participation and responsiveness
Journal of Advanced Nursing, Aug 2020.
Link to Full text

Distance Versus On-Site Educational Strategies for Competency-Based Screening, Brief Intervention, and Referral to Treatment Education
Journal of Addictions Nursing. Issue: Volume 29(4), October/December 2018, p E1–E8.
Full text

“Walls are put up when curiosity ends”: Transformative Education in the Canadian Carceral Context
Journal of Prison Education and Reentry, 2019-20.
Link to Full text

HealthTimes - news

Generation Next - Helping Graduate Nurses and Midwives Find Jobs
Oct, 2020.
Link to Full text

Weekly injection could treat type 2 diabetes, new enzyme discovery suggests
HealthTimes magazine, September 2020.
Link to Full text

Gaps in supportive care services for Aboriginal cancer patients
Health Times, June 2020
Link to article

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**

Nurse & Midwife Support

Support specifically designed for the Australian nursing workforce. All services focus on supporting and improving the health and wellbeing of nurses, midwives and students of the profession. For support just call 1800 667 877 or visit their website www.nmsupport.org.au

This website includes articles, newsletters and stories to support the wellbeing and clinical practice of all nurses

News&Events: Share your story to celebrate the International Year of the Nurse & Midwife!

Articles: Does nurses’ health affect their intention to remain in their current position?

Oxford Medicine Online - E-books

BMJ Best Practice, (Clinician's Health Channel)

BMJ Best Practice Comorbidities tool

This tool is designed to support the management of the whole patient by offering guidance on the treatment of acute conditions alongside pre-existing comorbidities.

BMJ Practice Tool can be accessed via CHC (Clinician's Health Channel, VIC Dept. of Health)

https://www2.health.vic.gov.au/clinicianshealthchannel

You can set up a free, individual account to access all resources on CHC.

Access from home

Use your SVHM login to access resources offsite. E-mail and network password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session to log in. Please note that some services only have Intranet access, i.e UptoDate.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

Nursing Resources for research

Events / Workshops

VCCC Nurse-Led Research Hub Resources (Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre)

Recorded past webinars apart of the VCCC Nurse-Led Research Hub Workshops, and more research resources for nurses can be found at: https://www.viccompcancerctr.org/what-we-do/research-development/nurse-led-research/resources/

Webinars include: Fundamentals of grant writing, Ethical review of human research projects and knowledge transfer

·      

Contact

Anna Lovang

Senior Research Librarian

E-mail: Anna.Lovang@svha.org.au