Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Update: Issue 9 August 2020

Nursing Update - Issue 9 August 2020

Feature articles

How nursing is ushering us towards a better world
professor Mark Lazenby. Oxford Medcine Online Edited extract from the full chapter ‘Nursing and the Good Society’ from Toward a Better World: The Social Significance of Nursing (Oxford, 2020). See Oxford Medicine Online highlight for full content.

Bringing Palliative Care Downstairs: A Case-Based Approach to Applying Palliative Care Principles to Emergency Department Practice  Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal Issue: Volume 42(3), July/September 2020, p 215-224.
Full text

Strategies for Alcohol Screening, Brief Intervention, and Referral to Treatment Sustainability in the Emergency Department
Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal, Issue: Volume 42(3), July/September 2020, p 225-230.
Full text

Vaping: What Every Emergency Nurse Practitioner Should Know!
Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal, Issue: Volume 42(2), April/June 2020, p 90-95.
Full text

Managing peripheral intravenous devices in the adults' general surgical setting: a best practice implementation report
International Journal of Evidence-Based Healthcare. Issue: Volume 12(1), March 2014, p 25-30
Full text

Opioid use disorder education for acute care nurses: An integrative review
Journal of Clinical Nursing, June 2020.
Full text

Plant-based diets and bone health: sorting through the evidence (Editorial)
Current Opinion in Endocrinology & Diabetes and Obesity, Issue: Volume 27(4), August 2020, p 248-252.
Full text

Patients and home carers' experience and perceptions of different modalities of enteral feeding
Journal of Clinical Nursing, Issue: Volume 28(17-18), September 2019, p 3149-3157.
Full text

Achieving Hepatitis C Elimination By Using Person-Centered, Nurse-Led Models of Care: A Discussion of Four International Case Studies
Gastroenterology Nursing. Issue: Volume 43(4), July/August 2020, p 303-309.
Full text

Nursing handoffs and clinical judgments regarding patient risk of deterioration: A mixed‐methods study
Journal of Clinical Nursing, July 2020 (Early View)
Full text

PURPOSE T in Swedish hospital wards and nursing homes: A psychometric evaluation of a new pressure ulcer risk assessment instrument
Journal of Clinical Nursing, August 2020
Full text

Clinicians’ assumptions about Sami culture and experience providing mental health services to Indigenous patients in Norway
Transcultural Psychiatry, April 2020.
Full text

Follow-Up and Management of Patients With Head and Neck Cancer During the 2019 Novel Coronavirus (SARS-CoV-2) Disease Pandemic.
Advances in Radiation Oncology. 5 (4) (pp 631-636), 2020
Full text

Allowing Visitors Back in the Nursing Home During the COVID-19 Crisis: A Dutch National Study Into First Experiences and Impact on Well-Being
Journal of the American Medical Directors Association, August 2020
Full text

Health Times, news articles 2015 (Australia)

Surgical Wounds - Part 1: Wound classification, healing intention and risk factors for complications
Full text
Surgical Wounds - Part 2
Full text
Surgical Wounds - Part 3: Surgical wound dehiscence and enterocutaneous fistula
Full text

Access from home

We try to provide hospital and remote access to most resources. Some journals, e-books are only network accessible.

Use your network login to access resources offsite, valid username and password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session. If you are an SVHM student with a username add "@svha.org.au" to the username.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**

Free access to Oxford Medicine Online (Oxford University Press) 

Oxford University Press has granted St Vincent's Hospital Melbourne free access to their entire Oxford Medicine Online site until December 30

There are over 1,000 books on the platform, as well as 80,000 images and 2,000 videos. Topics range from medical, nursing and Allied health disciplines. It includes the well renowned Oxford handbook series. 
Oxford Medicine Online

Oxford Handbook series - Oxford handbooks in Nursing
Specialties - Medical skills -  Nursing Skills  
Career Stage - Qualified Nurse

**Recommended Book: Toward a Better World: The Social Significance of Nursing
............................

Medication and Patient Safety 
Virtual Issue collection, Journal of Advanced Nursing, JAN (Wiley Online Library) 
 
  • Articles on patient safety, development of a safety culture, safe medication practices, patient involvement in medication practices.

Research Librarian

Contact: Anna Lovang

Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au

(03) 9231 2541