Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Update: Issue 7 June 2020

Nursing Update - Issue 7 June 2020

Feature Articles

COVID‐19 and Indigenous Peoples: An imperative for action
Tamara Power, Denise Wilson, Odette Best, Teresa Brockie, Lisa Bourque Bearskin, Eugenia Millender John Lowe. Journal of Clinical Nursing, 15 May 2020
Full text

Literature-based review of the drugs used for the treatment of COVID-19
Current Medicine Research and Practice, Volume 10, Issue 3, May–June 2020.
Link to Full text

Maximizing Success With Rapid Sequence Intubations
Smith, Tony L. Van Meter, Jessica. Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal. Issue: Volume 40(3), July/September 2018, p 183–193.
Full text

A Review of Central Venous Access Using Ultrasound Guidance Technology​
Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal. Issue: Volume 42(2), April/June 2020.
Link to Full text

Preventing catheter-related problems in community settings
Linda Nazarko, Independent Nurse, Dec 2019
Fulll text

Cardiogenic shock with resultant multiple organ dysfunction syndrome
Nursing, Issue: Volume 50(7), July 2020, p 54-60.
Link to Full text

Team communication patterns in emergency resuscitation: a mixed methods qualitative analysis
Lisa Anne Calder, George Mastoras, Mitra Rahimpour, Benjamin Sohmer, Brian Weitzman, A. Adam,Cwinn, Tara Hobin and Avi Parush.
International Journal of Emergency Medicine, 2017: 10:24.

Full text

Issues affecting nurses’ capability to use digital technology at work: An integrative review
Janie Brown, Nicole Pope, Anna Maria, Jaci Mason  Alani Morgan. Journal of Clinical Nursing,16 May 2020
Link to Full text

Australian Articles  AU  

The Chronic Liver Disease Nurse Role in Australia: Describing 10 Years of a New Role in Cirrhosis Management.
Wundke, Rachel et al. Gastroenterology Nursing, 2019.
Full text

Exploring the knowledge, attitudes and needs of advance care planning in older Chinese Australians
Yap, Sok Shin; Chen, Karren ; Detering, Karen ; Fraser, Scott A. Journal of Clinical Nursing; Issue: Volume 27(17-18), Sep 2018, p 3298–3306.
Full text

Solutions to the chronic wounds problem in Australia: A call to action
Pacella, RE; Tulleners, R; et al. Wound Practice & Research: Journal of the Australian Wound Management Association.
Vol. 26, No. 2, Jun 2018: 84-98.
Full text

The overprescription of antidepressants and its impact on the elderly in Australia.
Alduhishy M. Trends in psychiatry and psychotherapy, 2018. (Open Access, link to PDF)
Link to Full text

Research & Training 

Nursing Education After COVID‐19: Same or Different?
Karen H. Morin. Journal of Clinical Nursing,16 May Accepted article, 2020.
Link to Full text

COVID‐19 and student nurses: A view from England
Amelia Swift et al, April 2020
Full text

Effectiveness of a patient education plan on knowledge of post-op venous thromboembolism survival skills.
Green J; Bernhofer EI. Journal of Clinical Nursing. 27(7-8):e1485-e1493, 2018 Apr.

Full text

Student nurse perceptions of experiential learning to understand personality disorder
Dan Warrender
and Scott Macpherson. British Journal of Mental Health Nursing 2018 7:4, 173-188. 
Full text       

“Training Nursing Skills: A Quantitative Study of Nursing Students’ Experiences before and after Clinical Practice,”
 Nursing Research and Practice, vol. 2018, Article ID 8984028, 9 pages, 2018. Open Access.
 Link to Full text

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**

The June issue is looking at
Resilience - Your health matters! with Kim Foster
@(Nurse & Midwife Support (NM Support)

https://www.nmsupport.org.au/resources/podcasts/resilience-kim-foster 


Refugee week -  Refugee Nurses of Australia (20/6-26/6)

undefined       

© RNA, Refugee Nurses of Australia

Health education, health promotion and literacy       

Professional practice in refugee nursing

Refugee Week

Developing Programs for African Families, by African Families: Engaging African Migrant Families in Melbourne in Health Promotion Interventions.
Halliday, Jennifer A. et al. Family & Community Health. 37(1):60-73, January/March 2014 .
Full text

Culture competence and mental health across different immigrant and refugee groups.
Oppedal B; Keles S; Cheah C; Roysamb E.BMC Public Health. 20(1):292, 2020 Mar 06.
Full text
 
Experiences of registered nurses from a refugee background: A scoping review.
Chok, Harrison Ng et al. Journal of Clinical Nursing, 2019.
Full text 
The Role of Nurses in Advancing the Objectives of the Global Compacts for Migration and on Refugees.
Shaffer, Franklin et al. Nursing Administration Quarterly. 43(1):10-18, January/March 2019.
Full text

Well-Being in Refugee Women Experiencing Cultural Transition.
Baird, Martha B. Advances in Nursing Science. 35(3):249-263, July/September 2012
Quality and Cultural Sensitivity of Linguistically Appropriate Cardiovascular Disease Information for Chinese Immigrants: A Review of Online Resources From Heart Foundations.
Li, Jialin Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing. 33(3):269-280, May/June 2018.
 
 

Access from home

Use your SVHM login to access resources offsite. E-mail and network password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session to log in. Please note that some services only have Intranet access, i.e UptoDate.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

Reference Librarian

  Contact: Anna Lovang
  Carl de Gruchy Library
  St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
  41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
  VIC 3065
  E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
  (03) 9231 2541
  (Working from home - e-mail only)