Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Update: Issue 6 May 2020

Nursing Update - Issue 6 May 2020

Corona Virus Disease 2019-20 (COVID-19)

Corona Virus Resource Centre (JAMA network)

Feature Articles

COVID-19 and cardiovascular diseases: the facts
Sarah Jane Palmer. British Journal of Cardiac Nursing,Vol. 15, No. 4 2020
Full text

COVID-19 and palliative care (Editorial)
Ian Peate. British Journal of Nursing. Vol. 29, No. 8.
Full text
 
Dementia in care homes and COVID-19; Supporting residents, supporting carers, supporting homes
(NHS, UK. Published in collaboration with Alistair Burns, National Clinical Director for Dementia and Older People's Mental Health at NHS England and NHS Improvement)
Link to Full text

Pre‐registration undergraduate nurses and the COVID‐19 pandemic: students or workers?
Mark Hayter Debra Jackson. Journal of Clinical Nursing. Accepted Articles. 05 May 2020

Principles of mechanical ventilation for non-critical care nurses 
Barry Hill, British Journal of Nursing, Vol. 29, No. 8, 2020.
Full text


No one said he was dying: Families' experiences of end-of-life care in an acute setting
Odgers, Jade et al. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing, The. Volume 35 Issue 3 (Mar/May 2018)
Link to Full text

Gender differences in the impact of health literacy on hospital readmission among older heart failure patients: prospective cohort study
Youn‐Jung Son, Mi Hwa Won. Journal of Advanced Nursing, Volume 76, Issue 6, June 2020. Pages 1345-1354. First published:11 February 2020.
Full text

Role of nurses in addressing modifiable risk factors for early Alzheimer's disease and mild cognitive impairment
Kevin Hope,British Journal of Nursing, Vol. 29, No. 8, 2020.
Full text

Fundamentals of care - Special Issue Journal of Clinical Nursing

Patients' and nurses' experiences of fundamental nursing care: A systematic review and qualitative synthesis
Claire Pentecost et al.​ Vol. 29, issue 11-12, June 2020.
Link to Full text

Health and medical device development for fundamental care: Scoping review
Hanna‐Maria Matinolli et al. Special Issue, Journal of Clinical Nursing. Vol. 29, issue 11-12, June 2020.
Link to Full text

Exploring person‐centred fundamental nursing care in hospital wards: A multi‐site ethnography
Elise van Belle et al. Journal of Clinical Nursing, Vol. 29, issue 11-12, June 2020.
Link to Full text

“A privilege but also a challenge.” Nurse educators' perceptions about teaching fundamental care in a simulated learning environment:  A qualitative study​
Daniela Lillekroken. Journal of Clinical Nursing. 
Link to Full text

A context analysis on how oral care is delivered in hospitalised patients: A mixed‐methods study
Harm H. J. van Noort. Journal of Clinical Nursing. 
Link to Full text

Assessing the Disaster Readiness of Nurses in Hospitals
Maryam Jamaili et al. Journal of Holistic Nursing and Midwifery. Vol. 30, issue 2. 
Full text

 

                       

Florence Nightingale

Florence Nightingale - 200 year celebration 

Florence Nightingale and the early origins of evidence-based nursing
Lynn McDonald. Evidence-Based Nursing 2001;4:68-69.

Link to PDF

The Voice of Florence Nightingale on Advocacy
Louise C. Selanders and Patrick C. Crane, OJIN, Vol 17 2012 No1 Jan 2012.
Full text

Lamp light on leadership: clinical leadership and Florence Nightingale
David Stanley d. & Amanda Sherratt a. (2010) Journal of Nursing Management 18, 115–121.
Full text
 

Research Librarian

Anna Lovang's picture
Anna Lovang
Contact:
Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
(03) 9231 2541

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**
The May issue is looking at: Joanna Briggs Institute EDP database and resources. (Wolters Kluwer, OVID)

  • Evidence based practice database: medical, nursing, allied health specialties
  • JBI journal collection. JBI Evidence Synthesis, JBI Evidence Implementation (Systematic reviews, high quality research, EBP based)
  • Evidence based practice resources: Evidence Summaries, Recommended practices, Best practice information sheets, Evidence based audit criteria
  • Library trial until June 23 rd
  • Library homepage: Databases

            undefined

Writing for Publication for Nurses (English Edition) R Researchers, The WILEY NETWORK GROUP © 2018 John Wiley & Sons, Inc.

  • Content includes: Writing for publication, Writing an empirical research article, Writing an evidence synthesis article, Writing a clinical article
  • Writing guide is set in easy to understand concept areas of the writing overview process

Writing for Publication for Nurses - link to download PDF

 

 

International Year of the Nurse - 2020

Impact of a compassionate care leadership programme
Mohamad M Saa et al. British Journal of Nursing,Vol. 28, No. 11, 2019.
Link to Full text

Nurses step up to the challenge of working during the pandemic
Jean White, Charlotte McArdle, Fiona McQueen, Ruth May, British Journal of Nursing, May 2020.
Link to Full text

COVID-19 - nurses and midwives impact on global security (Editorial)
Marion Eckert. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing, Vol. 37 No. 2 (2020): March - May 2020
Link to Full text

A contemporary understanding of nurses’ workplace social capital: A response to the rapid changes in the nursing workforce
Jiamin Xu et al. Journal of Nursing Management; Oxford Vol. 28, Iss. 2,  (Mar 2020): 247-258.
Full text

Registered nurses as role models for healthy lifestyles
Penny Heidke, Wendy L Madsen,Erika M Langham. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing, Vol. 37 No. 2 (2020): March - May 2020.
Link to Full text

Is provision of professional development by RNs to nursing students a choice?
Carina Anderson. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing, Vol. 35, issue 4.
Full text

 undefined   
WHO:  Nursing and midwifery resource centre  
https://www.who.int/nursing-midwifery-resources/
                                                             

WHO: Strengthen Nurse Workforce.
Bridget M. Kuehn, MS JAMA. 2020;323(19):1886 Link to Full text

Quick Links - Nursing Journals

Open Access Nursing Journals

Access from home

We try to provide hospital and remote access to most resorces. Some journals, ebooks are only network accessible.

Use your network login to access resources offsite, valid username and password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session. If you are an SVHM student with a username add "@svha.org.au" to the username.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.