Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Update: Issue 3-4 February - March 2020

Nursing Update - Issue 3-4 Feb-March 2020

Feature Articles

COVID-19

The explosive epidemic outbreak of novel coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) and the persistent threat of respiratory tract infectious diseases to global health security 
Alimuddin Zumla,  Michael S. Niedermanc. Current Opinion in Pulmonary Medicine. Published ahead of print March 2020. 
Link to Full text

An outbreak of COVID-19 caused by a new coronavirus: what we know so far  
Medical Journal of Australia. Published ahead of print, February 2020.
Link to Full text

What further should be done to control COVID-19 outbreaks in addition to cases isolation and contact tracing measures?.
He, Z. BMC Med 18, 80 (2020). Published ahead of print.
Link to Full text

Feature Articles

Effectiveness of a psychoeducational intervention for caregivers of People With Dementia with regard to burden, anxiety and depression: A systematic review
Cindy E. Frias et al. Journal of Advanced Nursing. Volume 76, Issue 3, March 2020, Pages 787-802.
Full text

Front‐line nurses' perceptions of intra‐hospital handover
Georgia Tobiano et al. Journal of Clinical Nursing. Early View. First published 11 February 2020. 
Link to Full text

The Role of Nutrition for Pressure Injury Prevention and Healing: The 2019 International Clinical Practice Guideline Recommendations
Munoz, Nancy. Advances in Skin & Wound Care. Issue: Volume 33(3), March 2020, p 123-136.
Full text

Use of a Symptom Diary on Oncology Wards Effect on Symptom Management and Recommendations for Implementation​
Margriet IJzerman-KorevaarCancer Nursing, Published ahead of print, March 2020. 
Link to Full text 

Patient-mediated interventions to improve professional practice. [Review]
Source: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 9:CD012472, 2018 09 11.
Full text - Cochrane Review

Outrage and the emotional labour associated with environmental activism among nurses​
Louise Terry, Karen Bowman. Journal of Advanced Nursing, Volume 76, Issue 3, March 2020
Full text

Australian Perspectives 

Implementation of a multifaceted nurse‐led intervention to reduce indwelling urinary catheter use in four Australian hospitals: A pre‐ and postintervention study
Michelle Giles et al. Journal of Clinical Nursing, Volume 29, Issue 5-6.
Link to Full text

Exploring the experiences of internationally and locally qualified nurses working in a culturally diverse environment
O'Callaghan, Cathy; Loukas, Patty; Brady, Michelle; Perry, Astrid. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing (Online); Melbourne Vol. 36, Iss. 2,  (Dec 2018-Feb 2019): 23-34. 
Link to Full text

Pressure injury prevalence and predictors among older adults in the first 36 hours of hospitalisation
Sharon Latimer, Wendy Chaboyer, Lukman Thalib, Elizabeth McInnes, Tracey Bucknall, Brigid M. Gillespie. Journal of Clinical Nursing,
Volume 28, Issue 21-22. November 2019. Pages 4119-4127.
Link to Full text

Food and nutrition programs for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians: an overview of systematic reviews
Jennifer Browne et al. Australian Health Review, 2018, Vol. 42, pp.689–697.
Full text

Medication adherence assessment practices in dialysis settings: A survey of renal nurses’ perceptions
Ghimire, Saurav; Banks, Colin; Jose, Matthew D.; Castelino, Ronald L.; Zaidi, Syed Tabish R.* Journal of Clinical Nursing,Issue: Volume 28(3-4), February 2019, p 528–537.
Full text

Research & Training 

Relationship between critical thinking disposition and research competence among clinical nurses: A cross‐sectional study​
Qirong Chen, Dan Liu, Chuyi Zhou, Siyuan Tang. Journal of Clinical Nursing, Volume 29, Issue 7-8, 2020.
Link to Full text

Contemporary nursing graduates’ transition to practice: a critical review of transition models.
Journal of Clinical Nursing:2020: March 4
Link to Full text

Training Nursing Skills: A Quantitative Study of Nursing Students’ Experiences before and after Clinical Practice,”
 Nursing Research and Practice, vol. 2018, Article ID 8984028, 9 pages, 2018. Open Access.

 Link to Full text

A Novel Research Method for Determining Sedative Exposure in Critically Ill Patients 
Tracy, Mary Fran; Chlan, Linda; Savik, Kay; Skaar, Debra J.; Weinert, Craig. Nursing Research. Volume 68(1), January/February 2019, p 73–79.
Link to Full text
 

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**

Resources on Corona Virus COVID19
compiled by Library Staff

* Novel Coronavirus COVID19
* Public emergency literature for health professionals
* Expert searches through PubMed

COVID19 Resources

New Books -print and ebook

Access from home

We try to provide hospital and remote access to most resorces. Some journals, ebooks are only network accessible.

Use your network login to access resources offsite, valid username and password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session. If you are an SVHM student with a username add "@svha.org.au" to the username.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

Research Librarian

Anna Lovang's picture
Anna Lovang
Contact:
Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
(03) 9231 2541