Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Update: Issue 5 May 2019

Nursing Update - Issue 5 May 2019


Feature Articles

Embodying compassion: A systematic review of the views of nurses and patients​
Joanne Durkin, Kim Usher, Debra Jackson. First published: 28 November 2018.
Full text

Decision-making in nursing practice: An integrative literature review
CW Nibbelink, BB Brewer et al. - Journal of clinical nursing, 2018 
Full text

Aged Care Resistance and Antimicrobial Usage
Professor John Turnidge AO, Medical Advisor – White Paper, Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
Full text

AURA 2019: Implications for AMS and Clinical Practice 
Dr Emma Goeman, Staff Specialist Infectious Diseases & Microbiology Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, AU Presentation Paper, 2018.
(Accreditation, Guidelines, Autonomy)
Full text


Quality control circle improves self-monitoring of blood glucose in type 2 diabetic patients
Wu, Jun; Su, Xiaoyou; Lian, Hong; Lin, Aijuan; Wei, Huiyan and Hu, Jibo. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing, The,
Vol. 36, No. 3, Mar/Jun 2019: 22-28. 
Full text

Factors associated with glycaemic control in patients with diabetes mellitus: A systematic literature review
Lie Jie Cheng, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Vol. 28, Iss.9-10, May 2019.
Full text

Reflection and mental health nursing. Part one: is reflection important?
John Fowler. ​British Journal of Mental Health NursingVol. 8, No. 2, 2019. 
Full text

Australian Articles  AU  

Are Australian smokers with mental illness receiving adequate smoking cessation and harm reduction information?
Ratika Sharma‐Kumar et al. International Journal of Mental Health Nursing, 
Volume 27, Issue6, December 2018. Pages 1673-1688. 
Full text

James: A hospital is the place to heal a ravaged body, but what about a wounded spirit?
Lloyd, James. Australian Nursing and Midwifery Journal ,Volume 26 Issue 6 (Apr-Jun 2019)
Full text

The future of chronic disease management is here .. we just need to fund it

Chiarella, Ben. Australian Nursing and Midwifery Journal, Vol. 26, No. 6, Apr-Jun 2019: 51.
Full text

International nurses' day 12 May 2019
Dragon, Natalie. Australian Nursing and Midwifery Journal, Vol. 26, No. 6, Apr-Jun 2019: 38-39. 
Full text

Women on boards: A leading force
Dragon, Natalie. Australian Nursing and Midwifery Journal, Vol. 26, No. 5, Jan-Mar 2019: 38-40.
Full text

Research and education articles

Nurse practitioners: Barriers to practice
Beadnell, Cathy. Australian Nursing and Midwifery Journal, Vol. 26, No. 5, Jan-Mar 2019: 14-16.
Full text

A review of suspected intraoperative antiseptic burns: A quality improvement review  
Stankiewicz, Monica and Wyland, Michele.ACORN: The Journal of Perioperative Nursing in Australia, Vol. 30, No. 4, Summer 20
Full text

What Are the Perceptions, Experiences, and Behaviors of Health Care Providers After Implementation of a Comprehensive Smoke-Free Hospital Policy?
Kerrie E. Luck, 
Shelley Doucet. Global Qualitative Nursing Research. First Published March 15, 2018. 
Full text

Request an Article

How long is long enough? The utility of prolonged inpatient video EEG monitoring.

Brian D BD Moseley. Epilepsy research Volume:109 Page(s):9.
Request this article

Analgesic reduction during an interdisciplinary pain management programme: treatment effects and processes of change.
Beth J BJ Guildford, British Journal of Pain 12(2):72; 2018.
Request this article

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**

The May issue is looking at

AURA 2019: Third Australian report on antimicrobial use and resistance in human health 

https://www.safetyandquality.gov.au/antimicrobial-use-and-resistance-in-australia/aura-2019/

Useful links:  ​   ​

The Antimicrobial Stewardship Book
Carbapenemase producing Enterobacteriaceae (CPE) guide​

 

 

NEW ** Print Books

Oxford Handbook in Nursing

Access to a number of E-book titles in the series
Oxford Handbooks.

Topics include: Critical Care, Renal, Gastrointestinal, Respiratory Nursing among many more.

Oxford Handbook of .....Nursing

(Through the database Proquest)

Access from home

Use your SVHM login to access resources offsite. E-mail and network password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session to log in. Please note that some services only have Intranet access, i.e UptoDate.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

Research Librarian

Anna Lovang's picture
Anna Lovang
Contact:
Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
(03) 9231 2541