Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Update: Issue 11 November 2019

Nursing Update - Issue 11 November 2019

Feature Articles

 Long-term patients in an ICU: How a new patient group emerges
 
Contemporary Nurse,Claire Minton, Lesley Batten & Annette Huntington (2019) DOI: 10.1080/10376178.2019.1661787.
 ​Link to Full text

Opiate Dependence or Addiction?: A Review of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Guidelines for Management of
Chronic Pain

Dobbs, Gina C. MSN, FNP-BC, CRNP; Fogger, Susanne A. DNP, PMHNP-BC, CARN-AP, FAANP. Journal of Addictions Nursing, Issue: Volume 29(1), January/March 2018, p 57–61.
Link to Full text

The Impact of Nursing Work and Engagement on Patient Falls
Zadvinskis, Inga et al. JONA: The Journal of Nursing Administration. Issue: Volume 49(11), November 2019, p 531-537.
Link to Full text

Pathophysiology Review: Seven Neurotransmitters Associated With Delirium
Mulkey, Malissa A. et al. Clinical Nurse Specialist. Issue: Volume 32(4), July/August 2018, p 195–211.
Link to Full text

Incivility in nursing education: A systematic literature review
Ni Gusti Ayu Eka; Chambers, Derek. Nurse Education in Practice; Kidlington Vol. 39, (Aug 2019): 45-54. DOI:10.1016/j.nepr.2019.06.004 
Link to full text

Definition of compassion in health care: a systematic literature review
Encarnación, Perez Bret et al. International Journal of Palliative Nursing, Vol. 22, no.12  2016.
Full text

Embodying person‐centred being and doing: Leading towards person‐centred care in nursing homes as narrated by managers
Annica Backman et al. Journal of Clinical Nursing, Early View, oct 2019

Link to full text

Home haemodialysis: barriers and stepping stones
Sunita Nair, Journal of Kidney Care, Vol. 4, no. 5 Sept 2019.
Full text

Australian Articles  AU  

The vital blend of clinical competence and compassion: How patients experience person-centred care
Sandra Sharp, Margaret McAllister & Marc Broadbent (2016) Contemporary Nurse, 52:2-3, 300-312.
Link to Full text

A snapshot of guideline compliance reveals room for improvement: A survey of peripheral arterial catheter practices in Australian operating theatres.
Reynolds, Heather et al. Journal of Advanced Nursing, Issue: Volume 69(7), July 2013, p 1584–1594.
Link to Full text

The impact of improved surgical safety checklist participation on OR efficiencies: A pretest-post test analysis.
Gillespie, Brigid et al. ACORN: The Journal of Perioperative Nursing in Australia (ACORN), Autumn2019; 32(1): 9-18. (CINAHL)
Link to Full text


 Care experiences and unmet needs of lesbian, gay, and bisexual people with cancer: Systematic review.
Peters, Micah DJ; Lisy, Karolina; Schofield, Penelope and Jefford, Michael. Australian Nursing & Midwifery Journal (AUST NURS MIDWIFERY J), Jul2018; 26(1): 28-30.  Link to Full text (CINAHL)

The use of safety engineered medical devices to prevent needle stick injuries in the clinical setting.
Australian Nursing and Midwifery Journal,  McAlister, Michelle and Gartland, Clare. Vol. 26, No. 8, Oct-Dec 2019: 18-21. 
Full text

Research & Training

Are values related to culture, identity, community cohesion and sense of place the values most vulnerable to climate change?
Blennow, Kristina; ⨯ Erik Persson; Persson, Johannes. PLoS One; San Francisco Vol. 14, Iss. 1,  (Jan 2019): e0210426.
Link to Full text

The hepatology research nurse: an academic but patient-focused role
Nurun Tania, Bronwen Williams. British Journal of Nursing, Vol.,28, no. 3, Feb 2019.
Full text

Impact of clinical placements on graduates' first choice of first staff post
Mark Wareing et al. British Journal of Nursing, Vol. 27 no. 20 2018.
Full text

Advance care planning and home death in patients with advanced cancer: a structured interview analysis
Takako Ishikawa. International Journal of Palliative Nursing, Vol. 24 no. 9 Sept 2018
Full text
 

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**
The November issue is looking at :  

SCIE Social Care Institute for Excellence 

Social Care Institute for Excellence (UK resource) provides 

  • a vast knowledge/evidence base, including e-learning tools and resources, alongside topical blogs and articles
  • Offer a range of flexible and tailored input (training, consultancy, topic expertise, research, evaluation, facilitation, coaching) 
  • social care subjects within health, particularly nursing, allied health
  • Free access with a registration

Database of resources

Social Care Online

The UK’s largest database of information and research on all aspects of social care and social work (includes nursing, allied health, mental health)
Free on the Internet.

                               

New Books

More new titles from the Library Home page 

Request an article

Article request service:

For journal titles and articles not held at SVHM Library please use the link to our Doc Del (Interlibrary loan service) and we can request the full text for you. Use the form at:
http://svhm-au.libwizard.com/SVHMArticleRequest

Access from home

Use your SVHM login to access resources offsite. E-mail and network password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session to log in. Please note that some services only have Intranet access, i.e UptoDate.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

Research Librarian

Anna Lovang's picture
Anna Lovang
Contact:
Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
(03) 9231 2541

Quick Links - Nursing Journals

Open Access Nursing Journals