Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Update: Issue 1-2 December 2019 - January 2020

Nursing Update - Issue 1-2 January -February 2020

Corona Virus Disease 2019-20 (COVID-19)

Corona Virus Resource Centre (JAMA network)

Feature Articles

Measles—What’s Old Is New Again
Kala K. Blakely, Rebecca Suttle, Tara Wood, Kelley Stallworth, Natalie Baker. Nursing for Women's Health, Volume 24, Issue 1, Feb 2020.
Link to Full text

Implementing TIMERS: the race against hard-to-heal wounds
Leanne Atkin,et al. Journal of Wound CareVol. 28, No. Sup3a, March 2019. 
Link to Full text

Team communication patterns in emergency resuscitation: a mixed methods qualitative analysis
Lisa Anne Calder, George Mastoras, Mitra Rahimpour, Benjamin Sohmer, Brian Weitzman, A. Adam Cwinn, Tara Hobin, Avi Parush.
International Journal of Emergency Medicine, 2017: 10:24.
Link to Full text

Effectiveness of the Manchester Triage System on time to treatment in the emergency department
a systematic review

Cicolo, Emilia Aparecida et al. JBI Evidence Synthesis: January 2020 - Volume 18 - Issue 1 - p 56-73.
Link to Full text

Rates and features of methamphetamine-related presentations to emergency departments: An integrative literature review
Jones, Rikki; Woods, Cindy ; Usher, Kim. Journal of Clinical Nursing, Issue: Volume 27(13-14), July 2018, p 2569–2582.
Link to Full text

Google versus PubMed: comparison of Google and PubMed’s search tools for answering clinical questions in the Emergency Department. Annals of Emergency Medicine:2020:75(3):408-15
Full text

Only ever as a last resort’: mental health nurses' experiences of restrictive practices. AUS
International Journal of Mental Health Nursing:2020:February 11
Full text

When dementia and delirium come together
Angela Moore & Karen Harrison Dening. British Journal of Neuroscience Nursing, Vol. 15, no. 6 2019.
Full text

Clinical research nurses’ expectations and realities of their role: A qualitative evidence synthesis. 
Hernon, O, Dalton, R, Dowling, M. Journal of  Clinical Nursing. 2020; 29: 667– 683.
Full text

Nurses as role models in health promotion: a concept analysis
Joy Darch et al. British Journal of Nursing,  Vol 26, issue 17, Sept. 2017.
Link to Full text

Highlighting experimental treatment advances in cardiovascular medicine
Aysha Mendes et al. Journal of Prescribing PracticeVol. 2, No. 2, February 2020.
Link to Full text

Systematic review of nutrition screening and assessment in inflammatory bowel disease
World Journal of Gastroenterology, 2019 Jul 28; 25(28): 3823–3837. 
Link to Full text

Clinical Practice

Pulse oximetry and the enduring neglect of respiratory rate assessment: a commentary on patient surveillance
Malcom Elliot & Jill Baird, British Journal of Nursing, Vol. 28, issue 19, Oct. 2019.
Full text

Why don't nurses consistently take patient respiratory rates? (NZ)
Helen Ansell, Alannah Meyer, Shona Thompson. British Journal of Nursing Vol 23, Issue 8, April 2014.
Link to Full text

Preventing catheter-related problems in community setting
Linda Nazarko, Independent Nurse, Dec. 2019
Full text

The use of mentholated popsicle to reduce thirst during preoperative fasting: A randomised controlled trial.
Aroni, PFonseca, LFCiol, MAMargatho, ASGalvão, CM.  Journal of Clinical Nursing, 2020, 29:840-851.    
Full text

A new clinical tool for diagnosis and management of Guillain–Barré syndrome
Sarah Jane Palmer. British Journal of Neuroscience Nursing, Vol. 15, issue 6, 2019
Link to Full text

Preoperative peripheral and core temperature: an observational study at a day-surgery unit
Ek Matilda, Emma Westergaard-Nielsen, Maria Henricson. British Journal of Nursing, Vol. 29, issue 3, February 2020.
Link to Full text
                                                                                                                                

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**
The December issue is looking at Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander palliative & cultural- responsive care issues and information resources..

These are great, general indigenous research pages for patients and health care providers.

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Research

Research, Evidence and Practice on:   


 

The January issue is looking at 
Open Researcher and Contributor ID

       http://orcid.org/

"ORCID is a non-profit organization supported by a global community of organizational members, including research organizations, publishers, funders, professional associations, and other stakeholders in the research ecosystem".  (Orcid.org/ December 2018)        

Quick Links - Nursing Journals

Open Access Nursing Journals

Access from home

We try to provide hospital and remote access to most resorces. Some journals, ebooks are only network accessible.

Use your network login to access resources offsite, valid username and password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session. If you are an SVHM student with a username add "@svha.org.au" to the username.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

Research Librarian

Anna Lovang's picture
Anna Lovang
Contact:
Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
(03) 9231 2541