Skip to main content

Library Knowledge Update: Knowledge Update January 6 2020

Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin including feature articles across a wide range of clinical and non-clinical topics

Knowledge Update

Library Services' Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin which includes feature articles across a wide range of topics, new physical and e-books in the Library, and websites of interest.

Access to full text articles is available both on and offsite using a St Vincent's login.

St. Vincent's Hospital staff wishing to be notified when a new issue has been published can join the notification list by contacting Jeremy.Taylor@svha.org.au 

Feature Articles

The grim reality of nursing incivility.
Journal for Nurses in Professional Development:2020:36(1):41-43 Full text

Burnout and resilience after a decade in palliative care: what survivors have to teach us. A qualitative study of palliative care clinicians with more than 10 years of experience.
Journal of Pain and Symptom Management:2020:59(1):105-15 Full text

The role of a symptom assessment tool in shaping patient-physician communication in palliative care.
Journal of Pain and Symptom Management:2020:59(1):30-38 Full text

Implementation of a multifaceted nurse‐led intervention to reduce indwelling urinary catheter use in four Australian hospitals: A pre‐ and postintervention study. AUS
Journal of Clinical Nursing:2019: December 19 Full text

Another nail in the coffin of vena cava filters.
British Journal of Surgery:2020:107(1):9-10 Full text

Bedside optic nerve ultrasonography for diagnosing increased intracranial pressure: a systematic review and meta-analysis.
Annals of Internal Medicine:2019:17(12):896-905 Full text

Risk of severe influenza among adults with chronic medical conditions.
Journal of Infectious Diseases:2020:221(2):183-90 Full text

Transitions in atrial fibrillation care: a systematic review.
Heart Lung and Circulation:2019: December 24 Full text

End‐of‐life care following leg amputation in patients with peripheral artery disease or diabetes.
British Journal of Surgery:2020:107(1):64-72 Full text

Are antibiograms ready for prime time in the nursing home?
Journal of the American Medical Directors Association:2020:21(1):8-11 Full text

2019 ESC/EAS Guidelines for the management of dyslipidaemias: lipid modification to reduce cardiovascular risk: The Task Force for the management of dyslipidaemias of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC) and European Atherosclerosis Society (EAS).
European Heart Journal:2020:41(1):111-88 Full text

PROTECT: Relational safety based suicide prevention training frameworks. AUS
International Journal of Mental Health Nursing:2019: December 26 Full text

Living alone makes the heart more vulnerable.
Heart:2019: December 9 Full text

Manipulating the human microbiome to manage disease.
JAMA:2019: December 26 Full text

Head and neck injuries associated with cell phone use.
JAMA Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery:2019: December 5 Full text

Rates of discontinuation and nonpublication of head and neck cancer randomized clinical trials.
JAMA Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery:2019: December 26 Full text

Toward a speech neuroprosthesis.
JAMA Otolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery:2019: December 27 Full text

Browzine

Browzine is an easy-to-use interface for browsing journals and locating articles. Use on your PC, or via a free app or on your device. Please give us your feedback! If you would like to know more, just contact us! 

Search e-journals via Browzine