Skip to main content

Library Knowledge Update: Knowledge Update November 18 2019

Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin including feature articles across a wide range of clinical and non-clinical topics

Knowledge Update

Library Services' Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin which includes feature articles across a wide range of topics, new physical and e-books in the Library, and websites of interest.

Access to full text articles is available both on and offsite using a St Vincent's login.

St. Vincent's Hospital staff wishing to be notified when a new issue has been published can join the notification list by contacting Jeremy.Taylor@svha.org.au 

Feature Articles

Do Choosing Wisely recommendations about low-value care target income-generating treatments provided by members? A content analysis of 1293 recommendations. 
BMC Health Services Research:2019:19(707) Full text

Trends in opioid prescribing in Australia: a systematic review. AUS
Australian Health Review:2019: 12 November Full text

Guidelines on suicide amongst anaesthetists 2019.
Anaesthesia:2019: November 14 Full text

Short‐term safety and effectiveness of sugammadex for surgical patients with end‐stage renal disease: a two‐centre retrospective study.
Anaesthesia:2019: November 12 Full text

Difficult Airway Society guidelines for awake tracheal intubation (ATI) in adults.
Anaesthesia:2019: November 14 Full text

Institutional preparedness to prevent and manage anaesthesia‐related ‘can't intubate, can't oxygenate’ events in Australian and New Zealand teaching hospitals. AUS
Anaesthesia:2019: November 10 Full text

The 2019 ESC Guidelines on the Diagnosis and Management of Acute Pulmonary Embolism.
European Heart Journal:2019:40(42):3453–3455 Full text

Three‐dimensional printing in orthopaedic preoperative planning improves intraoperative metrics: a systematic review.
ANZ Journal of Surgery:2019: November 7 Full text

Review of The American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons Clinical Practice Guidelines for the Use of Bowel Preparation in Elective Colon and Rectal Surgery.
JAMA Surgery:2019:November 6 Full text

Renal denervation for hypertension: what is needed, and what is next.
European Heart Journal:2019:40(42):3483-85 Full text

Proton pump inhibitor use and progression to major adverse renal events: a competing risk analysis.
QJM:2019:112(11):835-40 Full text

Sub‐acute more than chronic hyponatremia is associated with serious falls and hip fractures.
Internal Medicine Journal:2019: November 10 Full text

Musculoskeletal healthcare: Have we over‐egged the pudding? AUS
International Journal of Rheumatic Diseases:2019: November 13 Full text

Are daylight saving time changes bad for the brain?
JAMA Neurology:2019: November 4 Full text

Readmission to a different hospital following acute stroke is associated with worse outcomes.
Neurology:2019:93(20): e1844-e1851 Full text

My guardian angel: patients’ fears and desires related to discussing implantable cardioverter-defibrillator deactivation.
Heart:2019: October 31 Full text

To nap or not to nap: more questions than answers.
Heart:2019:105(23):1768-69 Full text

100,000 genomes project: Integrating whole genome sequencing (WGS) data into clinical practice.
Annals of Oncology:2019:30(Supplement 7):10 Full text

Definition of a systematic review used in overviews of systematic reviews, meta-epidemiological studies and textbooks.
BMC Medical Research Methodology:2019:19(203) Full text