Skip to main content

Library Knowledge Update: Knowledge Update July 1 2019

Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin including feature articles across a wide range of clinical and non-clinical topics

Knowledge Update

Library Services' Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin which includes feature articles across a wide range of topics, new physical and e-books in the Library, and websites of interest.

Access to full text articles is available both on and offsite using a St Vincent's login.

St. Vincent's Hospital staff wishing to be notified when a new issue has been published can join the notification list by contacting Jeremy.Taylor@svha.org.au 

Feature Articles

Evaluation of an alternative model for the management of clinical risk in an adult acute psychiatric inpatient unit. AUS
International Journal of Mental Health Nursing:2019: June 175 Full text

Scalability of an IT intervention to prevent pressure ulcers in nursing homes.
Journal of the American Medical Directors Association:2019:20(7):816-21 Full text

Pressure injury prevalence and predictors among older adults in the first 36‐hours of hospitalisation. STV
Journal of Clinical Nursing:2019: June 19 Full text

STOP-FALLING: a simple checklist tool for fall prevention in a nursing facility.
Journal of the American Medical Directors Association:2019:916-918 Full text

The effects of exercise on falls in older people with dementia living in nursing homes: a randomized controlled trial.
Journal of the American Medical Directors Association:2019:20(7):835-842 Full text

Physical exercise improves function in acutely hospitalized older patients: secondary analysis of a randomized clinical trial.
Journal of the American Medical Directors Association:2019: 866-873 Full text

Pharmacist‐led influenza vaccination services in residential aged care homes: a pilot study. AUS
Australasian Journal on Ageing:2019:38(2):132-35 Full text

Use of medicines that may precipitate delirium prior to hospitalisation in older Australians with delirium: an observational study.
Australasian Journal on Ageing:2019:38(2):124-31 Full text

Opioid prescribing in the emergency department of a tertiary hospital: a retrospective audit of hospital discharge data. STV
Emergency Medicine Australasia:2019: June 23 Full text

Anticholinergic drug exposure and the risk of dementia: a nested case-control study.
JAMA Internal Medicine:2019: June 24 Full text

Implications of anemia in the elderly undergoing surgery.
Clinics in Geriatric Medicine:2019:35(3):391-405 Full text

Detection of brain activation in unresponsive patients with acute brain injury.
New England Journal of Medicine:2019:380:2497-2505 Full text

Chronic traumatic encephalopathy in two former Australian National Rugby League players.
Acta Neuropathologica Communications:2019:7:16 Full text

Adolescent self-harm: think before prescribing. STV
Australian Prescriber:2019:42:90–2 Full text

Associations between spontaneous swallowing frequency at admission, dysphagia, and stroke-related outcomes in acute care.
Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation:2019:100(7):1283-88 Full text

Giving voice to patient values throughout cancer: a novel nurse-led intervention.
Journal of Pain and Symptom Management:2019:58(1):72-79 Full text

The effects of fruit consumption in patients with hyperuricaemia or gout.
Rheumatology:2019:58(7):1133–41 Full text

Going against the grains: gluten-free diets in patients without celiac disease—worthwhile or not?
Digestive Diseases and Sciences:2019:64(7):1740-47 Full text

Bile acid changes after metabolic surgery are linked to improvement in insulin sensitivity.
British Journal of Surgery:2019: June 19 Full text

Personalized inflammatory bowel disease care reduced hospitalizations.
Digestive Diseases and Sciences:2019:64(7):1809-14 Full text

Risk of biologics and glucocorticoids in patients with rheumatoid arthritis undergoing arthroplasty: a cohort study.
Annals of Internal Medicine:2019:170(12):825-36 Full text

Is interferon therapy for hepatitis C infection a treatable risk factor for Parkinson Disease?
JAMA Neurology:2019: June 5 Full text

An examination of flying insects in seven hospitals in the united kingdom and carriage of bacteria by true flies (Diptera: Calliphoridae, Dolichopodidae, Fanniidae, Muscidae, Phoridae, Psychodidae, Sphaeroceridae)
Journal of Medical Entonomoly:2019: June 21 Full text

Strategies for neural control of prosthetic limbs: from electrode interfacing to 3D printing. STV
Materials 2019:12(12):1927 Full text

Autism inside out: lessons from the memoirs of three minimally verbal youths.
Disability and Rehabilitation:2019:41(19):2308-16 Full text

Site Spotlight - Non-admitted patient care 2017–18: Australian hospital statistics

Non-admitted patient care 2017–18: Australian hospital statistics

This report from the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare provides information on consultations with specialist medical practitioners, provision of diagnostic or other procedures, and care provided by allied health or clinical nurse specialists between 1 July 2017 and 30 June 2018.

15% (5.8 million) of services were for diagnostic services—including 3.2 million service events for Pathology (microbiology, haematology, biochemistry) and 1.7 million for General imaging. 8% (3.1 million) were in procedural clinics—including 1.1 million service events for Dental clinics.

Site Spotlight - Hospital resources 2017–18: Australian hospital statistics

A new statistical report from the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare:

Hospital resources 2017–18: Australian hospital statistics

There were 693 public hospitals and 657 private hospitals in Australia.

The Australian Government provided 41% of public hospital funding and 24% of private hospital funding.

Recurrent expenditure on public hospitals was $71 billion, with about 62% of this spent on salaries, wages and superannuation.

Site Spotlight - SVHM Custom Pubmed

Did you know that St Vincent's Hospital Library provides a custom version of Pubmed?
It can be found here: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=iausvhmlib

The advantage of using this version of Pubmed is that for each citation there is a St Vincent's icon which links to our catalogue system. This means that you can go to the full text if it is available. Or if the full text is not available, you will be given the opportunity to request the full text via our form which will populate the citation details for you.

Try booking this url and using it when you Pubmed at work or at home.