Skip to main content

Library Knowledge Update: Knowledge Update June 24 2019

Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin including feature articles across a wide range of clinical and non-clinical topics

Knowledge Update

Library Services' Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin which includes feature articles across a wide range of topics, new physical and e-books in the Library, and websites of interest.

Access to full text articles is available both on and offsite using a St Vincent's login.

St. Vincent's Hospital staff wishing to be notified when a new issue has been published can join the notification list by contacting Jeremy.Taylor@svha.org.au 

Feature Articles

The firm: does it hold the answers to teamworking and morale?
BMJ:2019:365:l4105 Full text

Advances in rehabilitation for chronic diseases: improving health outcomes and function.
BMJ:2019:365:l2191 Full text

Preventive interventions for pressure ulcers in long‐term older people care facilities: A systematic review.
Journal of Clinical Nursing:2019:28(13-14):2420-44 Full text

Relationship between nursing home quality indicators and potentially preventable hospitalisation.
BMJ Quality and Safety:2019:28(7):524-33 Full text

Patient safety superheroes in training: using a comic book to teach patient safety to residents.
BMJ Quality and Safety:2019: June 14 Full text

Patient-reported complications related to peripherally inserted central catheters: a multicentre prospective cohort study.
BMJ Quality and Safety:2019:28(7):574-81 Full text

Management of low back pain in Australian emergency departments. AUS
BMJ Quality and Safety:2019: June 4 Full text

Trends of emergency department presentations with a mental health diagnosis by age, Australia, 2004–05 to 2016–17: A secondary data analysis. AUS
Emergency Medicine Australasia:2019: June 12 Full text

A systematic review and meta-analysis of the impact of mindfulness-based interventions on the well-being of healthcare professionals.
Mindfulness:2019:10(7):1193-1216 Full text

Pre-operative risk prediction: will better tools produce better outcomes?
Journal of the American College of Cardiology:2019:73(24):3079-81 Full text

Reduced post‐operative urinary tract infection using the National Surgical Quality Improvement Program. AUS
ANZ Journal of Surgery:2019:June 18 Full text

Reduction in hospital admissions with an early computed tomography scan: results of an outpatient management protocol for uncomplicated acute diverticulitis. AUS
ANZ Journal of Surgery:2019:June 17 Full text

Unexplained anemia in the elderly.
Clinics in Geriatric Medicine:2019:35(3):295-305 Full text

Bipolar disorder and risk of Parkinson disease: a nationwide longitudinal study.
Neurology:2019:92(24): e2735-42 Full text

Association of anxiety with high-cost health care use among individuals with type 2 diabetes.
Diabetes Care:2019: dc181553. Full text

Cognitive decline before and after incident coronary events.
Journal of the American College of Cardiology:2019:73(24):3041-50 Full text

Leonardo da Vinci and his study of the heart: a 500-year anniversary appreciation of a maestro.
European Heart Journal:2019: 40(23):1823–26 Full text

Heat-moulded versus custom-made mandibular advancement devices for obstructive sleep apnoea: a randomised non-inferiority trial.
Thorax:2019:74(7):667-74 Full text

Effect of intraoperative high positive end-expiratory pressure (PEEP) with recruitment maneuvers vs low peep on postoperative pulmonary complications in obese patients: a randomized clinical trial.
JAMA:2019: 321(23):2292-305 Full text

Staged implementation of awakening and breathing, coordination, delirium monitoring and management, and early mobilization bundle improves patient outcomes and reduces hospital costs.
Critical Care Medicine:2019: Full text

Drug-eluting or bare-metal stents for percutaneous coronary intervention: a systematic review and individual patient data meta-analysis of randomised clinical trials.
Lancet:2019:393(10190):2503-10 Full text

Sustainable discovery and development of antibiotics — is a nonprofit approach the future?
New England Journal of Medicine:2019: June 19 Full text

New Print Books

Site Spotlight - SVHM Custom Pubmed

Did you know that St Vincent's Hospital Library provides a custom version of Pubmed?
It can be found here: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?myncbishare=iausvhmlib

The advantage of using this version of Pubmed is that for each citation there is a St Vincent's icon which links to our catalogue system. This means that you can go to the full text if it is available. Or if the full text is not available, you will be given the opportunity to request the full text via our form which will populate the citation details for you.

Try booking this url and using it when you Pubmed at work or at home.