Skip to main content

Library Knowledge Update: Knowledge Update May 6 2019

Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin including feature articles across a wide range of clinical and non-clinical topics

Knowledge Update

Library Services' Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin which includes feature articles across a wide range of topics, new physical and e-books in the Library, and websites of interest.

Access to full text articles is available both on and offsite using a St Vincent's login.

St. Vincent's Hospital staff wishing to be notified when a new issue has been published can join the notification list by contacting Jeremy.Taylor@svha.org.au 

Feature Articles

Individualised nutritional support in medical inpatients at nutritional risk: a randomised clinical trial.
Lancet:2019: April 25 Full text

The dose of physical activity to minimise functional decline in older general medical patients receiving 24‐hr acute care: A systematic scoping review. AUS
Journal of Clinical Nursing:2019: April 2 Full text

The rise of ward monitoring: opportunities and challenges for critical care specialists.
Intensive Care Medicine:2019:45(5):671-73 Full text

Screening for delirium after surgery: validation of the 4 A's test (4AT) in the post‐anaesthesia care unit.
Anaesthesia:2019: April 30 Full text

Surgical ultrasonography at the bedside: a comparison of surgical trainees with trained sonographers for symptomatic cholelithiasis – a first Australian experience. AUS
ANZ Journal of Surgery:2019:89(5):492-96 Full text

Quality improvement in surgery: introduction of the American College of Surgeons National Surgical Quality Improvement Program into New South Wales. AUS
ANZ Journal of Surgery:2019:89(5):471-75 Full text

Transcatheter aortic-valve replacement with a balloon-expandable valve in low-risk patients.
New England Journal of Medicine:2019:380:1695-1705 Full text

Anatomical location of primary melanoma: survival differences and sun exposure. STV
Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology:2019: April 19 Full text

Hospitalization rate in offspring of cancer survivors: a national cohort study.
Journal of Cancer Survivorship:2019:13(2):187-96 Full text

Warm water immersion in patients with chronic heart failure: a pilot study.
Clinical Research in Cardiology:2019:108(5):468-76 Full text
Survival: the ultimate long-term outcome in multiple sclerosis.
Brain:2019:142(5):1166-67 Full text

Total intake of different minerals and the risk of multiple sclerosis.
Neurology:2019:92(18): e2127-e2135 Full text

Music therapy for coping self-efficacy in an acute mental health setting: a randomized pilot study.
Community Mental Health Journal:2019:55(4):615-23 Full text

Stem cells in the treatment of disease.
New England Journal of Medicine:2019:1748-60 Full text

Review article: A primer for clinical researchers in the emergency department: Part VIII. Implementation science: An introduction.
Emergency Medicine Australasia:2019: April  Full text

Expanding the definition of learning: from self to social to system.
Medical Education:2019: April 26 Full text

 

 

New Physical Books This Week