Skip to main content

Library Knowledge Update: Knowledge Update April 29 2019

Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin including feature articles across a wide range of clinical and non-clinical topics

Knowledge Update

Library Services' Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin which includes feature articles across a wide range of topics, new physical and e-books in the Library, and websites of interest.

Access to full text articles is available both on and offsite using a St Vincent's login.

St. Vincent's Hospital staff wishing to be notified when a new issue has been published can join the notification list by contacting Jeremy.Taylor@svha.org.au 

Feature Articles

Resilience on the run – an evaluation of a wellbeing program for medical interns. AUS
Internal Medicine Journal:2019: April 16 Full text

Effect of a workplace wellness program on employee health and economic outcomes: a randomized clinical trial.
JAMA:2019:321(15):1491-1501 Full text

Research priorities in residential aged care services: a statewide survey. AUS
Australasian Journal on Ageing:2019: April 13 Full text

Why go to the emergency department? Perspectives from persons with borderline personality disorder.
International Journal of Mental Health Nursing:2019:28(3):757-65 Full text

Sound practice: Exploring the benefits of establishing a music group on an acute mental health inpatient unit. AUS
International Journal of Mental Health Nursing:2019:28(3):697-705 Full text

Effectiveness and acceptability of cognitive behavior therapy delivery formats in adults with depression: a network meta-analysis.
JAMA Psychiatry:2019: April 17 Full text

Engaging mental health professionals in addressing pain.
JAMA Psychiatry:2019: April 3 Full text

Residual disability, mortality, and nursing home placement after hip fracture over 2 decades.
Archives of Physical medicine and Rehabilitation:2019:100(5):874-82 Full text

Two-hourly repositioning for prevention of pressure ulcers in the elderly: patient safety or elder abuse? AUS
Journal of Bioethical Inquiry:2019:16(1):17-34 Full text

Does obesity protect against death in sepsis? A retrospective cohort study of 55,038 adult patients.
Critical Care Medicine:2019: 47(5):643-50 Full text

Renal replacement therapy in the ICU.
Critical Care Medicine:2019:47(5):715-21 Full text

Prevalence and prognosis of unrecognized myocardial infarction in asymptomatic patients with diabetes: a two-center study with up to 5 years of follow-up.
Diabetes Care:2019: April 22 Full text

Association between time of hospitalization with acute myocardial infarction and in-hospital mortality.
European Heart Journal:2019:40(15):1214:21 Full text

Two days of measurement provides reliable estimates of physical activity poststroke: an observational study. AUS
Archives of Physical medicine and Rehabilitation:2019:100(5):883-90 Full text

Association of closed-loop brain stimulation neurophysiological features with seizure control among patients with focal epilepsy.
JAMA Neurology:2019: April 15 Full text

Lentiviral gene therapy combined with low-dose busulfan in infants with SCID-X1.
New England Journal of Medicine:2019:380:1525-1534 Full text

Should I publish in an open access journal?
BMJ: 2019:365:l1544 Full text

Site Spotlight

Equally well in Victoria: Physical health framework for specialist mental health services.

Published in late March 2019, this document by the Department of Human Services, Victoria, aims to create a consistent approach to physical health care in Victorian specialist mental health services.

The report identifies three priority actions at an organisational level and six priority areas at a clinical level.

St Vincent’s Hospital (Optimal Health) participated in the expert reference group for this work.

New Physical Books This Week