Skip to main content

Library Knowledge Update: Knowledge Update November 12 2018

Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin including feature articles across a wide range of clinical and non-clinical topics

Knowledge Update

Library Services' Knowledge Update is a weekly bulletin which includes feature articles across a wide range of topics, new physical and e-books in the Library, and websites of interest.

Access to full text articles is available both on and offsite using a St Vincent's login.

St. Vincent's Hospital staff wishing to be notified when a new issue has been published can join the notification list by contacting Jeremy.Taylor@svha.org.au 

Feature Articles

Digital transformation of hospital quality and safety: real-time data for real-time action. AUS
Australian Health Review:2018: November 2 Full text

Getting rid of stupid stuff.
New England Journal of Medicine:2018:379:1789-91 Full text

Widespread emergency department access block: a human rights issue in Australia? STV
Australasian Psychiatry:2018: October 31 Full text

Methamphetamine use in patients presenting to emergency departments and psychiatric inpatient facilities: what are the service implications? STV
Australasian Psychiatry:2018: November 1 Full text

Workplace violence perpetrated by clients of health care: A need for safety and trauma‐informed care. AUS
Journal of Clinical Nursing:2018: November 9 Full text

Do health assets have a protective effect for hospitalized frail older adults? AUS
QJM:2018:111(11):785-89 Full text

Protein intake and disability trajectories in very old adults: The Newcastle 85+ Study.
Journal of the American Geriatrics Society:2018: November 1 Full text

Integration of oncology and palliative care: a Lancet Oncology Commission.
Lancet Oncology:2018:19(11): e588-e653 Full text

Patient views regarding the impact of hydrotherapy on critically ill ventilated patients: a qualitative exploration study.
Journal of Critical Care:2018:48:321-27 Full text

Vascular access: pearls and pitfalls.
Nephrology, Dialysis, Transplantation:2018:33(11):1905-07 Full text

Energy-dense versus routine enteral nutrition in the critically ill. AUS
New England Journal of Medicine:2018:379: 1823-34 Full text

Real-world clinical utility and impact on clinical decision-making of coronary computed tomography angiography-derived fractional flow reserve: lessons from the ADVANCE Registry.
European Heart Journal:2018:39(41):3701-11 Full text

Triple therapy in the management of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease: systematic review and meta-analysis.
BMJ: 2018;363:k4388 Full text

Appearance of Do‐It‐Yourself closed‐loop systems to manage type 1 diabetes. AUS
Internal Medicine Journal:2018: November 1 Full text