Skip to main content

Nursing Update: Issue 7 July 2019

Nursing Update - Issue 7 July 2019

Feature Articles

What factors influence ward nurses’ recognition of and response to patient deterioration? An integrative review of the literature
Debbie Massey, Wendy Chaboyer, Vinah Anderson. Nursing Open, 26th of April.
Full text

ABCs of Hospitalized Patients: A Simple Before-After Study of a Communication Tool to Improve Quality of Inpatient Care
Afsar-manesh, Nasim; Perkins, Colby E.; Breger, Kevin S.; Zadunayski, Michelle M. Journal of Patient Safety. sue: Volume 15(2), June 2019.
Full text

Early Mobility in the Intensive Care Unit: Evidence, Barriers, and Future Directions
Dirkes, Susan M.; Kozlowski, Charles. Critical Care Nurse, Jun 2019; 39(3): 33-42.

Full text

Functional recovery of older stroke patients discharged from hospital to home: The effects of cognitive status and different levels of therapy intensity
Huiying Liu and Vivian W.Q. Lou. Journal of Clinical Nursing. First published: 10 July 2018.
Link to Full text

Pre‐operative fasting in adults and children: clinical practice and guidelines
 
W. J. Fawcett, M. Thomas. Anaesthesia, Volume 74, Issue1, January 2019, Pages 83-88.
Full text 

Evaluation of Richmond Agitation Sedation Scale (RASS) in Mechanically Ventilated in the Emergency Department
Pop, Marianne K.et al. Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal. Issue: Volume 40(2), April/June 2018, p 131–137.

Link to Full text

Pressure Injuries at Intensive Care Unit Admission as a Prognostic Indicator of Patient Outcomes.
McGee, William T.; Nathanson, Brian H.; Lederman, Elizabeth; Higgins, Thomas L. Critical Care Nurse, Jun2019; 39(3): 44-50.
Full text

CALD Assist – Nursing: Improving Communication in the Absence of Interpreters
David Silvera‐Tawil,  Courtney Pocock, Dana Bradford, Andrea Donnell, Karen Harrap, Jill Freyne,Sally Brinkmann. Journal of Clinical Nursing. First Published: 02 July 2018.
Link to Full text

Nurses' Experiences in Caring for Older Adults With Responsive Behaviors of Dementia in Acute Care
Marie-Lee Yous, et al. Volume: 5: April 24, 2019; Sage Open Nursing.
Full text

Pathophysiology Review: Seven Neurotransmitters Associated With Delirium
Mulkey, Malissa A. et al. Clinical Nurse Specialist. Issue: Volume 32(4), July/August 2018, p 195–211.
Link to Full text

Returning to the sacred - the importance of careful attention to patients' nutritional needs in hospital settings
Zanini Milko et al. Journal of Advanced Nursing, Issue: Volume 73(3), March 2017, p 523-526.
Full text

Australian Articles  AU  

 Perceived barriers and enablers to conducting nursing assessments in residential aged care facilities in Victoria, Australia Perceived barriers and enablers to conducting nursing assessments in residential aged care facilities in Victoria, Australia Perceived barriers and enablers to conducting nursing assessments in residential aged care facilities in Victoria, Australia Perceived barriers and enablers to conducting nursing assessments in residential aged care facilities in Victoria, Australia Perceived barriers and enablers to conducting nursing assessments in residential aged care facilities in Victoria, Australia
Bauer, Michael; Fetherstonhaugh, Deirdre and Winbolt, Margaret. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing, The, Vol. 36, No. 2, Dec 2018 - Feb 2019: 14-22.
Full text

What’s in complementary medicines? (Editorial)
Geraldine Moses, Australian Prescriber 2019;42;: 82–3.
Full text

Anticipated advantages and disadvantages of a move to 100% single‐room hospital in Australia: A case study
Lynette Cusack et al. Journal of Nursing Management, Volume 27, Issue 5, July 2019. Pages 963-970.
Full text

Rise of homelessness (feature)
Beadnell, Cathy; Australian Nursing & Midwifery Journal, Jul 2018; 26(1): 16-21.
Link to Full text 

The Surgical Patients' Pressure Injury Incidence (SPPII) study: A cohort study of surgical patients and processes of care
Martinez-Garduno, CM; Rodgers, J; Phillips, R; Gunaratne, AW; Drury, P and McInnes, E. Wound Practice & Research: Journal of the Australian Wound Management Association, Vol. 27, No. 2, Jun 2019: 120-128.
Full text

Care experiences and unmet needs of lesbian, gay, and bisexual people with cancer: Systematic review.
Peters, Micah DJ; Lisy, Karolina; Schofield, Penelope and Jefford, Michael. Australian Nursing & Midwifery Journal. Jul 2018; 26(1): 28-30.  
Link to Full text  

Research & Training 

Interventions for improving the research literacy of nurses: a systematic review

Hines, Sonia; Ramsbotham, Joanne; Coyer, Fiona. JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports. Issue: Volume 14(2), February 2016, p 256-294.
Full text

New Graduate Nurse Experiences in Clinical Judgment: What Academic and Practice Educators Need to Know
Lusk Monagle, Janet; Lasater, Kathie; Stoyles, Sydnee; Dieckmann, Nathan. Nursing Education Perspectives.
Issue: Volume 39(4), July/August 2018, p 201–207.
Full text

The art of clinical supervision: Strategies to assist with the delivery of student feedback
Russell, Kylie. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing, The, Vol. 36, No. 3, Mar/Jun 2019: 6-13. 
Full text  

Methods for chronic wound research - a scoping systematic review of the recommendations, guidelines and standards
Parker, CN; Francis, A and Finlayson, KJ. Wound Practice & Research: Journal of the Australian Wound Management Association, Vol. 27, No. 2, Jun 2019: 62-107.
Link to PDF

Enhancing Nursing Students' Competency Skills With a Workplace Violence Nursing Simulation: Translating Knowledge Into Practice
Angel J. Solorzano Martinez. Open Nursing (free access journal)
Full text

Nursing students' understanding of the Fundamentals of Care: A cross-sectional study in five countries
Jangland, Eva et al. Journal of Clinical Nursing, Issue: Volume 27(11-12), June 2018, p 2460-2472.
Full text

 


 



 

 

 

 

 

 

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**
The July issue is looking at :  Continuing professional development and education in nursing. We are celebrating ACMD Research Week at SVHM.                        

SVHM Nursing Education Centre   
Continuing professional education  (Study days, work shops)   

                               

https://www.ncpdi.com.au/ (paid resource, but a lot of free newsletters and research information) Australian Resource
(Image downloaded at site 27/08/19, ©NCI https://www.ncpdi.com.au/)

** NEW Print books

Access from home

Use your SVHM login to access resources offsite. E-mail and network password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session to log in.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

Research Librarian

Anna Lovang's picture
Anna Lovang
Contact:
Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
(03) 9231 2541