Skip to main content

Nursing Update: Issue 6 June 2019

Nursing Update - Issue 6 June 2019

Feature Articles

Food Is Medicine—The Promise and Challenges of Integrating Food and Nutrition Into Health Care​ (Invited Commentary)
Mozaffarian D, Mande J, Micha R.JAMA Intern Med. Published online April 22, 2019179(6):793–795. doi:10.1001/jamainternmed.2019.0184
Full text

Association between receipt of a medically tailored meal program and health care use
Berkowitz SA, Terranova J, Randall L, Cranston K, Hsu J. JAMA Intern Med. 2019;179(6):786-793. 
Full text

Enteral feeding tubes: an overview of nursing care
Liz Anderson, 
British Journal of Nursing, Vol. 28, No. 12, June 26.
Full text

International Continence Society consensus on the diagnosis and treatment of nocturia
Karel Everaert et al. Neurourology and Urodynamics. Volume 38, Issue2, February 2019, Pages 478-498.
Full text

Online information on dysmenorrhoea: An evaluation of readability, credibility, quality and usability
Jordan Lovett et al. Journal of Clinical Nursing, 04 June, Early View 2019.
Full text

Nurse‐led postdischarge telephone follow‐up calls: A mixed study systematic review
Cindy, E. Woods et al. Journal of clinical Nursing 04 June, Early View 2019
Full text

Policies and strategies to prevent patient falls in Hospital
Alan Glasper, Discussion paper. British Journal of Nursing 28(12):806-807, 2019 Jun 27
Full text

Australian Perspectives 

Improving antibiotic prescribing for surgical prophylaxis - the role of perioperative nurses
Journal of Perioperative Nursing, Volume 32 Issue 1 (Autumn 2019) Herkes, Robert; Nicholson, Pat.
Full text

Perioperative nurses' perceptions of cross-training: A qualitative descriptive study 
Platt, Mellisa S; Coventry, Tracey and Monterosso, Leanne.
 Journal of Perioperative Nursing, Vol. 32, No. 1, Autumn 2019: 19-25.
Full text

Intentional rounding - An integrative literature review
Ryan, Liz; Jackson, Debra; Woods, Cindy; Usher, Kim. Journal of Advanced Nursing, Issue: Volume 75(6), June 2019, p 1151-1161.
Full text


Bioelectrical impedance analysis as a marker of nutritional status in chronically ill patients  
Krel, Cvetka; Piko, Nejc; Tomazic, Jozica and Bevc, Sebastjan.Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing, The, Vol. 36, No. 3, Mar/Jun 2019: 14-21.
Full text

Reliability and Validity of the Work and Social Adjustment Scale in Treatment-Seeking Problem Gamblers
Tolchard, Barry. Journal of Addictions Nursing, Issue: Volume 27(4), October/December 2016, p 229-233.
Full text

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health promotion programs for the prevention and management of chronic diseases: a scoping review protocol
Canuto, Karla; Aromataris, Edoardo; Lockwood, Craig; Tufanaru, Catalin; Brown, Alex. JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports. Issue: Volume 15(1), January 2017, p 10-14.
Full text

Research & Training
 

Parenteral Nutrition
Baiu I, Spain DA. JAMA. 2019;321(21):2142. doi:10.1001/jama.2019.4410 (Patient Education)
Full text


Medication simulation: Enhancing nursing students' clinical environmental awareness through self-care and promotion of patient safety​
Cheryl, Green.
 Whitireia Nursing and Health Journal Issue 25 (2018)
Full text

Validity and reliability of the teamwork evaluation of non-technical skills tool. 
Lin, Wei-Ting; Mayer, Celeste and Lee, Bih-O. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing, The, Vol. 36, No. 3, Mar/Jun 2019: 29-38.
Full text


Ultra-processed food intake and risk of cardiovascular disease: prospective cohort study (NutriNet-Santé)​ Systematic Review
Bernard Srour et al. BMJ 2019;365:l 1451
Full text


Meta-Analysis of Randomized Controlled Trials of Red Meat Consumption in Comparison With Various Comparison Diets on Cardiovascular Risk Factors.
Marta Guasch-Ferré et al. ​Circulation. 2019;139:1828–1845. 
Full text

Mentoring up: A grounded theory of nurse-to-nurse mentoring

Hale, Regina L.; Phillips, Carolyn A. Journal of Clinical Nursing, Issue: Volume 28(1-2), January 2019, p 159-172. 
Full text

Request an article

Vitamin D Status Is Associated With Development of Hospital-Acquired Pressure Injuries in Critically Ill Surgical Patients

Tiffany M N TMN Otero. Nutrition in clinical practice : official publication of the American Society for Parenteral and Enteral Nutrition 34(1):142
Request an article - Onsite only

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health and wellbeing: Social emotional wellbeing and strengths-based psychology
Kilcullen, John. Clinical Psychologist,  Feb 22, 2018
Request article - Onsite only

 

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**

 Chronic Illness, long term disease

 
Australian Institute of Health and Welfare -AIHW

Overview - major chronic conditions in Australia and their impact
Reports   
Evidence for chronic disease risk factors
Impact of overweight and obesity as a risk factor for chronic conditions

Preventing Chronic Disease - U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

         https://www.cdc.gov/

Journal: Preventing Chronic Disease: Current Volume | CDC
Preventing Chronic Disease (PCD) is a peer-reviewed electronic journal by the National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention Health Promotion
Publications - Journal Articles
https://www.cdc.gov/chronicdisease/center/news-media/archives/publications.htm

 

NEW **Print Books

Access from home

We try to provide hospital and remote access to most resorces. Some journals, ebooks are only network accessible.

Use your network login to access resources offsite, valid username and password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session. If you are an SVHM student with a username add "@svha.org.au" to the username.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

Research Librarian

Anna Lovang's picture
Anna Lovang
Contact:
Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
(03) 9231 2541