Skip to main content

Nursing Update: Issue 2 February 2019

Nursing Update - Issue 2 February 2019


Feature Articles

Prevalence of malnutrition among older people in medical and surgical wards in hospital and quality of nutritional care: A multicenter, cross-sectional study
Bonetti, Loris, et al. Journal of Clinical Nursing, Issue: Volume 26(23-24), December 2017, p 5082–5092.
Full text

Effects of early postoperative enteral nutrition versus usual care on serum albumin, prealbumin, transferrin, time to first flatus and postoperative hospital stay for patients with colorectal cancer: A systematic review and meta-analysis.
Funa Yang, Li Wei, Xia Huo, Ya Ding, Xiufang Zhou & Dongying Liu (2018) ,
Contemporary Nurse, 54:6, 561-577.
Full text

Role of the nurse in identifying and addressing health inequalities.
McFarland A, MacDonald E (2019) Nursing Standard, March 2019.
Full text

Exploring the needs of parents who experience miscarriage in the emergency department: A qualitative study with parents and nurses
Tina Edmond et al. , J Clin Nurs. 2019;1–14.
Full text

Australian Articles  AU  

Emergency management of patients with Supratherapeutic INRs on Warfarin: A multidisciplinary education study  
SafatlyInaam; Singleton, Hugh; Decker, Kelly; Roman, Cristina; Bystrzycki, Adam and MitraBiswadev Journal of Advanced Nursing, The, Vol. 36, No. 2, Dec 2018 - Feb 2019: 6-13.
Full text

Technology stress in perioperative nursing: An ongoing concern [online].
Smith, Judith and Palesy, Debra.  Journal of Perioperative Nursing, Vol. 31, No. 2, Winter 2018: 25-28.
Full text

Making evidence-based perioperative practices stick: An introduction to an implementation science approach
Osborne, Sonya. ACORN: The Journal of Perioperative Nursing in Australia. Volume 30 Issue 4 (summer 2017)
Full text

The development of indigenous Australian cultural competence in nursing
Biles, Jessica. Australian Nursing and Midwifery Journal, Vol. 26, No. 4, Oct 2018: 40-41. 
Full text

Blowing the whistle
Fedele, Robert. Australian Nursing and Midwifery Journal, Vol. 26, No. 6, Apr-Jun 2019: 14-16. 
Full text

Validity testing of a tool for assessing nurse safety behaviour against blood borne infections. 
Oh, HyunSoo and Seo, WhaSook.  Journal of Advanced Nursing, The, Vol. 35, No. 4, Jun/Aug 2018: 24-33. 
Full text

Research and education articles

Communication training and its effects on carer and care‐receiver outcomes in dementia settings: A systematic review
Hoang, Nguyen et al. Journal of Clinical Nursing Volume 28, Issue 7-8, pp. 1050-1069 April 2019. 
Full text  

Exploring preceptorship programmes: Implications for future design
Louise M Taylor, Charlotte L Eost-Telling, Annie Elliot. Journal of Clinical Nursing, Vol 28 issue 7-8, pp. 1164-1173.
Full text

Ethics education in nursing: Challenges for nurse educators
Song, Jenny. Ethics education in nursing: Challenges for nurse educators [online]. Kai Tiaki Nursing Research, Vol. 9, No. 1, Sep 2018: 12-17.
Full text

Effectiveness
of nurse-delivered patient education interventions on quality of life in outpatients: A systematic review
Steve Strupeit et al. Applied Nursing Research, Volume 26, Issue 4, 2013, Pages 232-238.
Full text

Anaphylaxis
Australian Nursing and Midwifery Journal, Vol. 26, No. 6, Apr-Jun 2019: 24-26.
Full text

Request an Article

Mental Health Nursing Practice and Indigenous Australians: A Multi-Sited Ethnography.
Molloy, L. et al. Issues in Mental Health Nursing. 40(1):21-27, 2019 Jan.
Request an article


Probiotics in Irritable Bowel Syndrome: Where Are We?
Neurogastroenterol. Motil. 2018 Dec 01;30(12)e13513, G Barbara, C Cremon, F Azpiroz. 
Request an article

The Strategies to Reduce Injuries and Develop Confidence in Elders Intervention: Falls Risk Factor Assessment and Management, Patient Engagement, and Nurse Co-management.
Reuben, DB. et al. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. 65(12):2733-2739, 2017 Dec.
Request an article

 

 

 

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**

The February issue is looking at
COCHRANE LIBRARY Podcasts

Podcast: Colloids or crystalloids for fluid replacement in critically ill people
(Sharon Lewis from the Royal Lancaster Infirmary)

Listen (4:53 min) 

Search for A Podcast  Cochrane Library Podcasts 

             

NEW ** Print Books

Oxford Handbook in Nursing

Access to a number of E-book titles in the series
Oxford Handbooks.

Topics include: Critical Care, Renal, Gastrointestinal, Respiratory Nursing among many more.

Oxford Handbook of .....Nursing

(Through the database Proquest)

Access from home

Use your SVHM login to access resources offsite. E-mail and network password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session to log in. Please note that some services only have Intranet access, i.e UptoDate.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

Research Librarian

Anna Lovang's picture
Anna Lovang
Contact:
Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
(03) 9231 2541