Skip to main content

Nursing Update: Issue 12 December 2019

Nursing Update - Issue 12 December 2018


Feature Articles

Prevalence of malnutrition among older people in medical and surgical wards in hospital and quality of nutritional care: A multicenter, cross-sectional study
Bonetti, Loris, et al. Journal of Clinical Nursing, Issue: Volume 26(23-24), December 2017, p 5082–5092.
Full text

Home Delivered Meals to Older Adults: A Critical Review of the Literature
Gualtieri, Marie C. MA; Donley, Amy M.; Wright, James D.; Vega, Sara Strickhouser. Home Healthcare Now. Issue: Volume 36(3), 
May/June 2018, p 159–168.
Full text

Vital sign monitoring following stroke associated with 90-day independence: A secondary analysis of the QASC cluster randomized trial
Sandy Middleton, Patrick McElduff, Peta Drury, Catherine D’Este, Dominique A. Cadilhac, Simeon Dale, Jeremy M. Grimshaw, Jeanette Ward, Clare Quinn, N. Wah Cheung, Chris Levi. International Journal of Nursing Studies, Volume 89, January 2019, Pages 72-79.
Full text

Australian Articles  AU  

Responding to heat wave intensity: Excess Heat Factor is a superior predictor of health service utilisation and a trigger for heatwave plans.  Australian & New Zealand Journal of Public Health. 39(6):582-7, 2015 Dec.
Full text

 

Research & Training 

A qualitative study of nurse practitioner promotion of interprofessional care across institutional settings: Perspectives from different healthcare professionals
Christina Hurlock-Chorosteckia, Maryvan Soerena, KathleenMacMillan, SourayaSidanic, FaithDonald, Scott Reevesde. International Journal of Nursing Sciences. Volume 3, Issue 1, March 2016, Pages 3-10. Open access
Full text

Peer Teaching in High-Fidelity Simulation: Participant Experiences and Reflections
Lawrence, Kay; Messias, DeAnne K. Hilfinger; Estrada, Robin Dawson; Long, Vicki. Nurse Educator, Issue: Volume 43(6), November/December 2018, p 312–316.
Full text

Complications and Interventions in Patients with an Artificial Urinary Sphincter: Long-Term Results
Sidney B. Radomski,Vladimir Ruzhynsky, Christopher J.D. Wallis, Sender Herschorn. Volume 200 Issue 5, November 2018, Page: 1093-1098.
Full text

Learning Sterile Procedures Through Transformative Reflection: Use of iPad Videos in a Nursing Laboratory Course
Cernusca, Dan; Thompson, Shila; Riggins, Janet. Nurse Educator, Issue: Volume 43(6), November/December 2018, p 330–333.
Full text

A preliminary study of a novel emergency department nursing triage simulation for research applications
Steven L. Dubovsky, Daniel Antonius, David G. Ellis, Werner Ceusters, Robert C. Sugarman, Renee Roberts, Sevie Kandifer, James Phillips, Elsa C. Daurignac, Kenneth E. Leonard, Lisa D. Butler, Jessica P. Castner, G. Richard Braen. BMC Res Notes. 2017; 10: 15.
Full text

Distance Versus On-Site Educational Strategies for Competency-Based Screening, Brief Intervention,
and Referral to Treatment Education

Kelly, Patricia; Gotham, Heather J. ; Knopf-Amelung, Sarah ; Kohnle, Kendall; Kuofie, Araba. Journal of Addictions Nursing. Issue: Volume 29(4), October/December 2018, p E1–E8.
Full text

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**

The December issue is looking at
Open Researcher and Contributor ID

       http://orcid.org/

"ORCID is a non-profit organization supported by a global community of organizational members, including research organizations, publishers, funders, professional associations, and other stakeholders in the research ecosystem".  (Orcid.org/ December 2018)        

Oxford Handbook in Nursing

Access to a number of E-book titles in the series
Oxford Handbooks.

Topics include: Critical Care, Renal, Gastrointestinal, Respiratory Nursing among many more.

Oxford Handbook of .....Nursing

(Through the database Proquest)

Access from home

Use your SVHM login to access resources offsite. E-mail and network password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session to log in. Please note that some services only have Intranet access, i.e UptoDate.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

Research Librarian

Anna Lovang's picture
Anna Lovang
Contact:
Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
(03) 9231 2541