Skip to main content

Nursing Update: Issue 11 November 2018

Nursing Update - Issue 11 November 2018

Feature Articles

Communication training and its effects on carer and care‐receiver outcomes in dementia settings: A systematic review
Hoang Nguyen, Daniel Terry, Hoang Phan, James Vickers, Fran McInerney. Journal of Clinical Nursing, Oct 2018. Early View.
Full text

The use of debridement in the healing of diabetic foot ulcers
Emily Moore, Natasha Charlwood, and Mehtab Ahmad. British Journal of Nursing 2018 27:20, S12-S14 
Full text                   

Nurses' role in recognising and responding to clinical deterioration in surgical patients
Suad Mohammmed; Iddrisu.Ana; F Hutchinson. Yasmin Sungkar, Julie Considine. Journal of Clinical Nursing,
Volume 27, Issue9-10. May 2018. Pages 1920-1930.

Full text

Experiences of peripheral IV insertion in hospital: a qualitative study
Emily Larsen, Samantha Keogh, Nicole Marsh, Claire Rickard. British Journal of Nursing 2017 26:19, S18-S25.
Full text

Care and management of a stoma: maintaining peristomal skin health
Anna Boyles, Sharon Hunt. British Journal of Nursing 2016 25:17, S14-S21.
Full text       

A Comparative Study of Smartphone Game with Spirometry for Pulmonary Function Assessment in Stroke Patients
Joo, Sunghee; Lee, Kyeongjin; Song, Changho.  BioMed Research International, 11/04/2018; 1-6.
Full text

Healthcare professionals’ competence in digitalisation: A systematic review
Jenni Konttila, et al. Journal of Clinical Nursing, Oct 2018. Early View.
Full text

Increasing Access to Palliative Care Services in the Intensive Care Unit
McCarroll, Caitlin Marie. Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing. Issue: Volume 37(3), May/June 2018, p 180–192.
Full text

Nurses’ integrity and coping strategies: An integrative review
Sastrawan Sastrawan, Jennifer Margaret Newton, Gulzar Malik. Journal of Clinical Nursing, Oct 2018, Early View.
Full text

Australian Articles  AU  

The care of older people with dementia in rural Australian hospitals – a case study
Shannon, Kay; Grealish, Laurie; Cruickshank, Mary. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing (Online); Melbourne Vol. 36, Iss.1, (Sep-Nov 2018): 6-15. Full text

Clinical handover of immediate post-operative patients: A literature review.
Clarke, Samantha; Clark-Burg, Karen; Pavlos, Elaine. ACORN: The Journal of Perioperative Nursing in Australia (ACORN),
Winter2018; 31(2): 29-35.
Full
text

Investigating cardiovascular patients’ preferences and expectations regarding the use of social media in health education

Nidal F. Eshah (2018) Contemporary Nurse, 54:1, 52-63.
Full text

Assessment of pain in chronic wounds: A survey of Australian health care practitioners.
Frescos, Nicoletta. International Wound Journal, Dec 2018; 15(6): 943-949.
Request an article* (Journal not held at STV)

Quality and Cultural Sensitivity of Linguistically Appropriate Cardiovascular Disease Information for Chinese Immigrants: A Review of Online Resources From Heart Foundations
Li, Jialin; Lowres, Nicole; Jin, Kai; Zhang, Ling; Neubeck, Lis; Gallagher, Robyn. The Journal of Cardiovascular Nursing. Issue: Volume 33(3), May/June 2018, p 269–280.
Full text                                  

Nutritional screening, assessment and implementation strategies for adults in an Australian acute tertiary hospital: a best practice implementation report
Smith, Louise; Chapman, Amanda; Flowers, Kelli; Wright, Kylie; Chen, Tanghua; O'Connor, Charmaine; Astorga, Cecilia; Francis, Nevenka; Vigh, Gia; Wainwright, Craig. JBI Database of Systematic Reviews and Implementation Reports. 16(1):233-246, January 2018.

Full text

Research & Training 

Impact of clinical placements on graduates' choice of first staff-nurse post
Mark Wareing, Renate Taylor, Aileen Wilson, and Adrienne Sharples. British Journal of Nursing 2018 27:20, 1180-1185.
Full text              

An Interprofessional Web-Based Teaching Module to Enhance Competency of the Advanced Practice Nursing Clinical Education in the Emergency Department
Ro, Kumhee ; Weiland, Christy; Sin, Mo-Kyung. Advanced  Emergency Nursing Journal. Issue: Volume 40(2), April/June 2018, p 127–130.
Full text

Using the Levels of Sickness Teaching Strategy to Engage Students in Recognizing Clinical Deterioration
Toto, Diane L. Nurse Educator, Issue: Volume 43(6), November/December 2018, p 287–288.
Full text


Exploring attitudes of healthcare professionals towards ICT-based interventions for nursing home residents with dementia: a mixed-methods approach
Julie Lorraine O'Sullivan. Contemporary Nurse, Volume 54, 2018 - Issue 1: Social Media, Technology and Communication.
Full text 


 

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**
The November issue is looking at

The Nurses For Nurses Network. An informative nursing blogg, Queensland based.

Sign up to the Blogg and get a free Ebook on Wound Management! By Cheryl Desotti, Wound Care Specialist.
The Nurses for Nurses Network Blogg

 

Oxford Handbook in Nursing

Access to a number of E-book titles in the series Oxford Handbooks.

Topics include: Critical Care, Renal, Gastrointestinal, Respiratory Nursing among many more.

Oxford Handbook of .....Nursing

(Through the database Proquest)

Access from home

Use your SVHM login to access resources offsite. E-mail and network password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session to log in. Please note that some services only have Intranet access, i.e UptoDate.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

Research Librarian

Anna Lovang's picture
Anna Lovang
Contact:
Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
(03) 9231 2541