Skip to main content

Nursing Update: Issue 1 January 2019

Nursing Update - Issue 1 January 2019

Feature Articles

Rates and features of methamphetamine-related presentations to emergency departments: An integrative literature review
Jones, Rikki; Woods, Cindy ; Usher, Kim. Journal of Clinical Nursing, Issue: Volume 27(13-14), July 2018, p 2569–2582.
Link to Full text

A qualitative evaluation of the STOMA psychosocial intervention programme for colorectal cancer patients with stoma
Lim, Siew Hoon; Chan, Sally Wai Chi; Lai, Jiunn Herng; He, Hong-Gu.
Journal of Advanced Nursing. Issue: Volume 75(1), Jan 2019, p108–118.
 Full text

An exploration of why qualified mental health nurse prescribers do not prescribe
Helen Oldknow, Warren Gillibrand, Andrew Clifton. British Journa of Mental Health Nursing, Vol. 8, issue 1, Feb 2019.
Full text

Outpatient preoperative oral nutritional support for undernourished surgical patients: A systematic review
van Noort, Harm H.J et all. Journal of Clinical Nursing. Issue: Volume 28(1-2), January 2019, p 7–19.
Full text

The Standardized Pressure Injury Prevention Protocol for improving nursing compliance with best practice guidelines 
Padula, William V.; Black, Joyce M. Journal of Clinical Nursing, Issue: Volume 28(3-4), February 2019, p 367–371.
Full text

Caregivers’ perceptions of aggressive behaviour in nursing home residents living with dementia: A meta‐ethnography
Solvor Nybakken, Maria Strandås. JAN, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Volume74, Issue12, December 2018, Pages 2713-2726.
Full text

Association between neutrophil-to-lymphocyte ratio and nutritional status in geriatric patients.
Kaya T; Acikgoz SB; Yildirim M; Nalbant A; Altas AE; Cinemre H. Journal of Clinical Laboratory Analysis. 33(1):e22636, 2019 Jan.
Full text

Patient-mediated interventions to improve professional practice. [Review]
Source: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. 9:CD012472, 2018 09 11.
Full text - Cochrane Review

The perceptions of homeless people regarding their healthcare needs and experiences of receiving health care
Rae, Bernadette Emma and Rees, Sharon. Journal of Advanced Nursing, Issue: Volume 71(9), September 2015, p 2096–2107.
Full text

Australian Perspectives 

Exploring the experiences of internationally and locally qualified nurses working in a culturally diverse environment
O'Callaghan, Cathy; Loukas, Patty; Brady, Michelle; Perry, Astrid. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing (Online); Melbourne Vol. 36, Iss. 2,  (Dec 2018-Feb 2019): 23-34. 
Link to Full text

Emergency management of patients with Supratherapeutic INRs on Warfarin: a multidisciplinary education study
Safatly, Inaam et al. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing (Online); Melbourne Vol. 36, Iss. 2,  (Dec 2018-Feb 2019): 6-13. 
Link to Full text

Preparing nurses to be prescribers of digital therapeutics  
Caleb Ferguson, Louise Hickman, Rebecca Wright, Patricia M. Davidson & Debra Jackson.
Contemporary Nurse, Published online: 25 Jun 2018. Editorial. AU
Link to Full text

Food and nutrition programs for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians: an overview of systematic reviews
Jennifer Browne et al. Australian Health Review, 2018, Vol. 42, pp.689–697.
Full text

Pilot study: how Sydney community nurses identified food security, and student nurse focus group perceptions
Saville, Lynette. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing (Online); Melbourne Vol. 35, Iss.3, (Mar-May 2018): 32-38. AU
Link to Full text. (CINAHL Permalink)

Reducing serious fall-related injuries in acute hospitals: are low-low beds a critical success factor?
Barker, Anna; Kamar, Jeannette; Tyndall, Tamara; Hill, Keith. Journal of Advanced Nursing. Issue: Volume 69(1), January 2013, p 112–121.
Full text

Medication adherence assessment practices in dialysis settings: A survey of renal nurses’ perceptions
Ghimire, Saurav; Banks, Colin; Jose, Matthew D.; Castelino, Ronald L.; Zaidi, Syed Tabish R.* Journal of Clinical Nursing,Issue: Volume 28(3-4), February 2019, p 528–537.
Full text

Research & Training 

Preferred reporting items for systematic reviews and meta-analyses: The PRISMA Statement.
Moher D., Liberati A., Tetzlaff J., & Altman D. G., & The Prisma Group (2009).PLoS Medicine, 6(7), e1000097.
Link to Full text - Open Access

Training Nursing Skills: A Quantitative Study of Nursing Students’ Experiences before and after Clinical Practice,”
 Nursing Research and Practice, vol. 2018, Article ID 8984028, 9 pages, 2018. Open Access.

 Link to Full text

Key components of knowledge transfer and exchange in health services research: Findings from a systematic scoping review.
Prihodova, Lucia; Guerin, Suzanne; Tunney, Conall; Kernohan, W. George. Journal of Advanced Nursing; 2019 Feb;75(2):313-326.
Full text

         
A Novel Research Method for Determining Sedative Exposure in Critically Ill Patients 
Tracy, Mary Fran; Chlan, Linda; Savik, Kay; Skaar, Debra J.; Weinert, Craig. Nursing Research. Volume 68(1), January/February 2019, p 73–79.
Link to Full text
 

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**

Research, Evidence and Practice on:   

Access from home

We try to provide hospital and remote access to most resorces. Some journals, ebooks are only network accessible.

Use your network login to access resources offsite, valid username and password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session. If you are an SVHM student with a username add "@svha.org.au" to the username.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

Research Librarian

Anna Lovang's picture
Anna Lovang
Contact:
Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
(03) 9231 2541