Skip to main content

Nursing Update: Issue 9 September 2018

Nursing Update - Issue 9 September 2018

Feature Articles

The intersection of culture in the provision of dementia care: A systematic review
Brooke, Joanne; Cronin, Camille; Stiell, Marlon; Ojo, Omorogieva. Journal of Clinical Nursing; Issue: Volume 27(17-18), Sept 2018, p 3241–3253.
Full text

Evaluation of a nurse-led intervention to improve adherence to recommended guidelines for prevention of venous thromboembolism for hip and knee arthroplasty patients: A quasi-experimental study
Journal of Clinical Nursing, Issue: Volume 27(5-6), March 2018, p e1048–e1060.
Full text

Pressure injuries in people with darker skin tones: A literature review
Oozageer Gunowa, Neesha; Hutchinson, Marie; Brooke, Joanne; Jackson, Debra. Journal of Clinical Nursing; Issue: Volume 27(17-18), Sept 2018, p 3266–3275.
Full text

Maximizing Success With Rapid Sequence Intubations

Smith, Tony L. Van Meter, Jessica. Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal. Issue: Volume 40(3), July/September 2018, p 183–193.
Full text

Reducing diabetes distress and improving self-management with mindfulness
Robin R. Whitebird, Mary Jo Kreitzer, Gabriela Vazquez-Benitez & Chris J. Enstad.
  Social Work in Health Care, 57:1, 48-65, 2018.
Full text

Nursing assessment of the causes of chest pain
Kate O'Donovan. British Journal of Cardiac Nursing 2013 8:10, 483-488.
Full text


Team communication patterns in emergency resuscitation: a mixed methods qualitative analysis
Lisa Anne Calder, George Mastoras, Mitra Rahimpour, Benjamin Sohmer, Brian Weitzman, A. Adam,Cwinn, Tara Hobin and Avi Parush.
International Journal of Emergency Medicine, 2017: 10:24.

Full text

Do Pharmaceuticals Improve Driving in Individuals with ADHD? A Review of the Literature and Evidence for Clinical Practice
Surman, C.B.H., Fried, R., Rhodewalt, L. et al. CNS Drugs (2017) 31: 857.
Full text


Australian Articles  AU  

Exploring the knowledge, attitudes and needs of advance care planning in older Chinese Australians
Yap, Sok Shin; Chen, Karren ; Detering, Karen ; Fraser, Scott A. Journal of Clinical Nursing; Issue: Volume 27(17-18), Sep 2018, p 3298–3306.
Full text

Effect of an evidence based quality improvement framework on patient safety
Montgomery, Amy, RN, TNP, BN, MSc; Riley, Therese, RN, RM, BSocSc, MEd; Tranter, Shelley, RN, DNsg; Manning, Vicki, BAdmin, MPH; Fernandez, Ritin S, RN, MN, PhD. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing (Online); Melbourne Vol. 35, Iss. 4,  (Jun-Aug 2018): 6-16.
Full text  (Hospital access only)

Developing nurses’ intercultural/intraprofessional communication skills using the EXCELLence in Cultural Experiential Learning and Leadership Social Interaction Maps
Henderson, Saras; Barker, Michelle. Journal of Clinical Nursing; Issue: Volume 27(17-18), September 2018, p 3276–3286.
Full text

Solutions to the chronic wounds problem in Australia: A call to action
Pacella, RE; Tulleners, R; et al. Wound Practice & Research: Journal of the Australian Wound Management Association.
Vol. 26, No. 2, Jun 2018: 84-98.
Full text

Advanced wound therapies
Ahangar, P; Woodward, M and Cowin, AJ. Wound Practice & Research: Journal of the Australian Wound Management Association, Vol. 26, No. 2, Jun 2018: 58-68. Hospital Access only.
Full text

Validity testing of a tool for assessing nurse safety behaviour against blood borne infections
Oh, HyunSoo, PhD, RN; Seo, WhaSook, PhD, RN. Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing (Online); Melbourne Vol. 35, Iss. 4, (Jun-Aug 2018): 24-33. Link to Full text

Living on: an exploration of healthful cancer survivorship among grey nomads.
Australian Journal of Cancer Nursing, May2018; 9(1): 19-24.
Full text


The overprescription of antidepressants and its impact on the elderly in Australia.
Alduhishy M. Trends in psychiatry and psychotherapy, 2018. (Open Access, link to PDF)
Link to Full text

Research & Training 

Effectiveness of a patient education plan on knowledge of post-op venous thromboembolism survival skills.
Green J; Bernhofer EI. Journal of Clinical Nursing. 27(7-8):e1485-e1493, 2018 Apr.

Full text

Team psychological formulations in assertive outreach teams: Evaluating staff experiences
Gail Harrison, Emma Sellers, and Melanie Blakeman. British Journal of Mental Health Nursing 2018 7:2, 75-80  
Full text                 
                                

Student nurse perceptions of experiential learning to understand personality disorder
Dan Warrender and Scott Macpherson. British Journal of Mental Health Nursing 2018 7:4, 173-188.

Full text       

“Training Nursing Skills: A Quantitative Study of Nursing Students’ Experiences before and after Clinical Practice,”
 Nursing Research and Practice, vol. 2018, Article ID 8984028, 9 pages, 2018. Open Access.
 Link to Full text


Which patients with Type 2 diabetes will have greater compliance to participation in the Diabetes Conversation Map™program? A retrospective cohort study Einav Srulovici. Becca Feldman et al. Diabetes Research and Clinical Practice, 2018-09, Vol.143, Pages 337-347.
Full text

User Experience of an Innovative Mobile Health Program to Assist in Insulin Dose Adjustment: Outcomes of a Proof-Of-Concept Trial
Hang Ding, Farhad Fatehi, Anthony W. Russell, Mohan Karunanithi, Anish Menon, Dominique Bird, and Leonard C. Gray.Telemedicine and e-Health. Volume: 24 Issue 7: July 1, 2018.
Full text
 

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**
The September issue is looking at
VTE  Venous Thromboembolism

Resources

                              
Tools for health professionals

 

                             
VTE Prevention and resources list

 

Guidelines and Protocols

Clinical Practice Guideline: For the prevention of Venous Thromboembolism in Patients Admitted to Australian Hospitals.
(National Health and Medical Research Council, 2009) (AU)
Full text 
Preventing hospital-associated venous thromboembolism: a guide for effective quality improvement,
Maynard G. 2nd ed. Rockville, MD: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality; October 2015. AHRQ Publication No. 16-0001-EF. (US)
Link to Full text
Guidelines on the Diagnosis and Management of Acute Pulmonary Embolism:: The Task Force for the Diagnosis and Management of Acute Pulmonary Embolism of the European Society of Cardiology (ESC)  (European Society of Cardiology, 2014)
Full text


 


 

Access from home

Use your SVHM login to access resources offsite. E-mail and network password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session to log in. Please note that some services only have Intranet access, i.e UptoDate.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

Research Librarian

Anna Lovang's picture
Anna Lovang
Contact:
Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
(03) 9231 2541