Skip to main content

Nursing Update: Issue 8 August 2019

Nursing Update - Issue 8 August 2018

Feature Articles

The Modified Valsalva Maneuver for Reversion of Stable Supraventricular Tachycardia: Lessons Learned From the REVERT Trial
Davis, Wesley D. Advanced Emergency Nursing Journal. Issue: Volume 41(3), July/September 2019, p 192-197.
Full text

Exploring attitudes of healthcare professionals towards ICT-based interventions for nursing home residents with dementia: a mixed-methods approach Julie Lorraine O’Sullivan, Paul Gellert, Britta Hesse, Laura-Maria Jordan, Sebastian Möller, Jan-Niklas Voigt-Antons & Johanna Nordheim Contemporary Nurse, 54:1, 13-25, 2018
Full text

Detecting Delirium Using a Physiologic Monitor
Mulkey, Malissa A. Dimensions of Critical Care Nursing. Issue: Volume 38(5), September/October 2019, p 241-247.
Full text

Prospective memory rehabilitation using smartphones in patients with TBI
Lars Evald, Disability and Rehabilitation, 40:19, 2250-2259, 2018.
Full text

A Prospective, Multicenter, Single-Arm Clinical Trial for Treatment of Complex Diabetic Foot Ulcers with Deep Exposure Using Acellular Dermal Matrix
Cazzell, Shawn et al. Advances in Skin & Wound Care. Issue: Volume 32(9), September 2019, p 409-415.
Full text

Preventing Aspiration Complications: Implementing a Swallow Screening Tool
Wangen,Tina et al. Clinical Nurse Specialist. Issue: Volume 33(5), September/October 2019, p 237-243.
Full text

Best Practices to Decrease Infusion-Associated Medication Errors
Wolf, Zane Robinson. Journal of Infusion Nursing. Issue: Volume 42(4), July/August 2019, p 183-192. F
Full text

Accepted but Unacceptable: Peripheral IV Catheter Failure
Helm, Robert E. MD; Klausner, Jeffrey D.; Klemperer, John D. MD; Flint, Lori M.; Huang, Emily.
Journal of Infusion Nursing. Issue: Volume 42(3), May/June 2019, p 151-164.
Full text

The effect of computer-based cognitive flexibility training on recovery of executive function after stroke: rationale, design and methods of the TAPASS study
Renate M. van de Ven, Ben Schmand, Erny Groet, Dick J. Veltman and Jaap M. J. Murre, BMC Neurology 2015 15:144.
Full text

Australian Articles  AU  

Using technology to overcome the language barrier: the Cognitive Assessment for Aphasia App
Kylie Janine Wall, Toby Borland Cumming, Sebastian Thomas Koenig, Anita Maria Pelecanos & David Andrew Copland,  Disability and Rehabilitation, 40:11, 1333-1344, 2018.
Full text

Evidence Utilisation Project: Management of Inadvertent Perioperative Hypothermia. The challenges of implementing best practice recommendations in the perioperative environment
Munday, Judy et al.  International Journal of Evidence-Based Healthcare. Issue: Volume 11(4), December 2013, p 305-311.
Full text

Issues impacting on enrolled nurse education for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students: a discussion
Jennifer H. Cramer, Judith Dianne Pugh, Susan Slatyer, Diane E. Twigg & Melanie Robinson. Contemporary Nurse, 54:3, 258-267, 2018.
Full text


The extent of medication errors and adverse drug reactions throughout the patient journey in acute care in Australia
International Journal of Evidence-Based Healthcare. Issue: Volume 14(Issue 3: Medication Safety Issue), September 2016, p 113-122.
Full text

Incontinence, Incontinence-Associated Dermatitis, and Pressure Injuries in a Health District in Australia: A Mixed-Methods Study Barakat-Johnson, Michelle; Barnett, Catherine; Lai, Michelle; Wand, Timothy; White, Kathryn. Journal of Wound, Ostomy and Continence Nursing Issue: Volume 45(4), July/August 2018, p 349-355.
Full text

Research & Training 

Clinical Nurse Specialist Preceptor Protocol
Bloomingdale; Darmody, Julie V. Clinical Nurse Specialist. Issue: Volume 33(5), September/October 2019, p 228-236.
Full text

A qualitative study of new graduates’ readiness to use nursing informatics in acute care settings: clinical nurse educators’ perspectives Eun Hee Shin, Elizabeth Cummings & Karen Ford. Contemporary Nurse, 54:1, 64-76, 2018.
Full text


Rich pictures: a companion method for qualitative research in medical education
Sayra M Cristancho; Esther Helmich. Medical Education. Volume 53, Issue 9; September 2019 Pages 916-924.
Full text

Exploring group boundaries and conflicts: a social identity theory perspective
Naike Bochatay et al. Medical Education. Volume 53, Issue8, August 2019, Pages 799-807.
Full text 

Sayra M Cristancho

Corresponding Author

 

E-mail address: sayra.cristancho@schulich.uwo.ca

 

Department of Surgery, Faculty of Education, Centre for Education Research and Innovation, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, University of Western Ontario, London, Ontario, Canada

Correspondence: Sayra M Cristancho, Centre for Education Research and Innovation, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry, Western University, Health Sciences Addition, Room H114A, London, Ontario N6A 5C1, Canada. Tel: 00 1 519 661 2111; E‐mail: 

sayra.cristancho@schulich.uwo.ca

Search for more papers by this author
Esther Helmich

CEDAR, University Medical Center Groningen, Groningen, the Netherlands

Search for more papers by this author

 

 

 

 



 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the Spotlight

**Every Month Nursing Update will highlight an area of interest. To learn more and explore.**
The August issue is looking at :

Cochrane’s Evidence Essentials: An introduction to evidence-based medicine and systematic reviews

 New online learning is now freely available to anyone who is interested in an introduction to Evidence Based Medicine, Cochrane evidence and how to use it. 4 free, online learning modules, written from the perspective of a healthcare consumer and co-created with patients and carers, this learning resource is perfectly pitched to give anyone an introduction to Evidence Based Medicine and Systematic Reviews.
Learning Modules:  https://training.cochrane.org/essentials

Cochrane Online learning
Learning Events: Web & Short courses

SVHM Library Service - Search Alerts
(Current awareness updates in a topic of your choice)

Librarians can customise specific searches and set up strategies to run through an auto-alert system (updates) via your e-mail.
Once the database refreshes you will receive new research articles according to the topic parameters (keywords) set. It is a great way of keeping abreast in your area of interest and get research information sent directly to your e-mail inbox.
Please use our Search Alert form on the library home page or use this link. Request a Search alert

We also provide topic search requests -
Request a Literature Search

Medical Education - education & training journal

Access from home

Use your SVHM login to access resources offsite. E-mail and network password.

You should only be prompted once per browser session to log in. Please note that some services only have Intranet access, i.e UptoDate.

If you do not know your password or it has expired, please contact the IT help desk on SVHA 1300 518 001.

Research Librarian

Anna Lovang's picture
Anna Lovang
Contact:
Carl de Gruchy Library
St.Vincent's Hospital Melbourne
41 Victoria Pde, Fitzroy
VIC 3065
E-mail: anna.lovang@svha.org.au
(03) 9231 2541